Subject and Course Guides: Museum and Exhibition Studies: MUSE 545 Museum Genres, Practices and Institutions

Exploring topics for MUSE 545

To get started brainstorming ideas for your research topic, try browsing through

Museum studies E-books, and print books in the Daley Library stacks

Next Practices in Diversity and Inclusion
links to a compendium of examples of diverse and inclusive practices at museums

Finding exhibition catalogs and other exhibit documentation

Try searching the library online catalog using the term "exhibitions" (as opposed to "exhibition") in the subject field. This will return a number of exhibition catalogs. You can then click on the subject term in the record to bring up additional resources.

Visit museum web sites for information about past exhibitions.

Check YouTube for media resources about your exhibition.

Finding news reports and reviews

To learn about the impact of an exhibition at the time it was held, search for articles and reviews in a variety of news sources. Try a variety of search approaches:

The title of the exhibition
The name of the museum, limited to the date range for the exhibition

Search NexisUni and Access World News for international news.

Search Individual Electronic Newspaper Titles -- chiefly American newspapers, both current and historical, but includes The London TImes (current and historical).

Leonardo Reviews (Leonardo/ISAST)
Scholarly reviews by an international panel of professionals working at the edge of research into the convergence of the arts, science and technology.

Finding academic/scholarly articles

There are numerous databases you can use to research your topic, but here are a few that should be fruitful for locating information about exhibitions. For links to all databases provided by the library, go to the library's Databases A-Z list.

America: History and Life
America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

America: History and Life is a resource for a variety of disciplines, including:

* History
* American Studies
* Anthropology
* Genealogy
* Interdisciplinary Studies
* Literature/Folklore
* Multicultural Studies
* Popular Culture
* Sociology
* Women's Studies/Gender Studies
* History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Featuring full-text articles plus abstracting and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, Art Full Text is a useful database for art students and art historians. It covers many topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, film and architecture. The database also includes Art Index Retrospective which covers index from 1929-1984.
The database covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more. In recent years, its coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art has expanded greatly, along with its material on new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Historical Abstracts
Historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Published since 1954, this database has long been recognized as among the leading bibliographies for historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

Leonardo (The International Society for the Arts, Sciences and Technology)
Articles by artists and researchers around the world who use science and developing technologies in their work.

Project Muse
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Project MUSE® offers more than 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Sociological Abstracts
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1909 - current)
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.

UIC Library Accounts & Services

I-Share - request books from libraries statewide
ILLiad: Free scanned articles from other libraries
Our interlibrary loan service can also be used to request books that are not available through I-Share.
RefWorks (Citation Management Tool)
Organize your citations and build bibliographies. Free to the UIC community.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Museum and Exhibition Studies

Exploring topics for MUSE 545

Finding exhibition catalogs and other exhibit documentation

Finding news reports and reviews

Finding academic/scholarly articles

UIC Library Accounts & Services

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library