Museum and Exhibition Studies

Over 95,000 images of works and basic information about works of art from all areas of the Art Institute's encyclopedic collection.

Over 30,000 images of maps, manuscripts, documents, monuments, and photographs from the British Library. Includes online exhibitions and virtual books.

Searchable database of about 4.5 million objects from the Museum's collection. Freely downloadable images with Creative Commons licenses for reuse.

Searchable collection of modern & contemporary Native American and indigenous art, located at the University of California Davis.

Nearly 20,000 images of public domain artworks in the museum are available to download. Other images may be protected by copyright.

Includes over 406,000 public domain images of artworks from The Met collection to use, share, and remix without restriction. Select "Open Access" when searching.

Independent non-profit project to provide visual, textual and interactive resources to facilitate exploration in this historical and contemporary field.

Over 160,000 images available from numerous cultures, spanning the Museum's encyclopedic collection. Includes historical portraits.

Searchable collection of more than 6.1 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts. The Smithsonian is the umbrella for 19 museums, including the National Museum for African American HIstory and Culture.

Under the museum's "Collection" menu, search the artists represented in the museum's permanent collection, view the Midwest Photographers Project, and participate in a tagging project. View digital exhibitions under the "Exhibitions" menu.

Museum holds extensive collections of 19th-century French and American photography and 20th-century photography. Also streaming digitized films, and a blog.

Searchable collections and details about current and past exhibitions. The Center, established in 1974, is home to several major archival collections including the Weegee archive.

Links to museums in USA and beyond that support research on photography. Info about events and opportunities for photographers. Curated by the International Center of Photography (ICP), New York.

Guide to museum resources, e-learning, and online collections.

Links to many resources for art and art history, including art museums and other image collections. Maintained by University of Michigan School of Art & Design.