Subject and Course Guides: Nursing 361 Nursing Care of Populations (Springfield): Home

Assignment Guidelines

Community Assessment and Plan Project Assignment Guidelines Course document that outlines the assignment

Libraries - tabbed

Other - Local community hospitals or public libraries may be a source of information on local communities

AHA Guide to the Health Care Field, WX 22 AA1 A285 (Reference)
Health United States, W2A H434 1990 - present
Illinois Facts: A Comprehensive Look at Illinois Today by Clements. F 536 C626i 1989 (Reference)
Illinois Hospital Association Resource Directory, WX 22AI3 I29i (Reference)
Statistical Abstract of the United States, HA 202 A1 S797 (Reference and Illinois State Library)
World Almanac and Book Facts, AY 67 W927 (Reference)

Broadcasting and Cable Yearbook, Illinois State Library; UIS Library
Directory of Long-term Care Facilities, Illinois Department of Health, Division of Long-term Care, Quality Assurance, 525 W. Jefferson St., 5th floor, Springfield
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, UIS Library
Home Health Agency Directory, Illinois Department of Health, Division of Long-term Care, Quality Assurance, 525 W. Jefferson St., 4th floor, Springfield
Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties, Illinois State Library and UIS Library
State Profile. Illinois (Woods and Poole Economics), Illinois State Library

General U.S. and State Resources

Healthy People 2020 Health Data
Use the search the data on the left menu
CDC - Interactive Data Tools and Query Systems
Determinants of Health from Healthy People 2020
Assess your aggregate community according to the “determinants of health” framework. liberally
National Healthcare Quality Report and National Healthcare Disparities Report
CDC Health Disparities and Inequalities Report — United States, 2013 (PDF)
HealthData.gov
Overall National/State/County comparison data
State Level - Sortable Risk Factors and Health Indicators
Illinois Public Health Community Map
Community Health Status Indicators
NCCDPHP: Community Health
Community Health Status Indicators (Archival Website)

Federal Statistics Sources

Fedstats.gov
County Business Patterns - US Census Bureau
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Data on employment rates, salary, inflation and consumer spending.
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Demographic Data
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Census Data

U.S. Census Bureau
Good resource for population data as well as data regarding agriculture, education, employment, health, law, etc.
USA Counties
The U.S. Census Bureau has terminated its support for the USA Counties database. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations listed in the source file [XLS].
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published by the federal government, the Statistical Abstract pulls statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States from Census data, various Federal Agencies, and private organizations.
County Business Patterns
State and County Quick Facts
State and County Quick Facts - Tables
County/Census Tract/& Other Resources
Your local guide to cities, towns, neighborhoods, states, counties, metro areas, zip codes, area codes, and schools in USA.

Educational Statistics

Illinois Specific Resources

Illinois Business Resouces

Illinois Blue Book 2017-2018
Illinois Department of Employment Security
Illinois Division of Professional Regulation License Look-up
LOCATE YOUR BUSINESS IN ILLINOIS
The Illinois Department of Commerce provides the LocationOne Information System (LOIS) for conducting searches on available commercial and industrial sites and building locations throughout Illinois. Maintained in partnership with communities across the state, LocationOne is designed to address the site selection requirements of businesses and their consultants.
Community Profiles / IL Dept. of Commerce and Economic Opportunity
Detailed information on Illinois cities and towns: city services; health & education facilities; transportation; utilities; major employers; wage rates; tax structure, etc. (Must choose profile to get detailed info.)
Illinois Workforce Information Center

Other Illinois Information Sources

Counties in Illinois - Health Needs Assessment - tabbed

500 Cities Project - Springfield Report

Christian County - Public Health Department

Taylorville Memorial Hospital

Pana Hospital

Community Health Needs Assessment 2016 (PDF)

Logan County - Public Health Department

Public Health Department
Annual Report
Logan County Community Health Needs Assessment 2014-2019 (PDF)
Health Matters Spring 2018
Foster Child Program - Healthworks
HealthWorks of Illinois is a collaborative effort of the Department of Children and Family Services, Department of Healthcare and Family Services and Department of Public Health. The primary purpose of HealthWorks is to assure that DCFS wards from birth to age 21, who are in substitute care, receive comprehensive quality health care services.
SIU FQHC Federally Qualified Health Center
SIU Center for Family Medicine is designated as a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC). This status enables us to offer special program for low income and uninsured patients.
Community Action Partnership of Central Illinois (Logan)
SIU Dental
The dental clinic serves Medicaid eligible children and adults free of charge and uninsured or underinsured children and adults on a sliding fee basis.
Abraham Lincoln Memorial Hospital and the Logan County Department of Public Health to assess the health needs of Logan County
Community Health Need Assessments (CHNAs)
Introduction to Community Health Need Assessments for Sangamon, Logan and Christian Counties
Covers Christian, Logan, Morgan, and Sangamon since Memorial serves all of these.
Memorial Health System Community Benefit Annual Report

CDC - Center for Disease Control Information

CDC - Center for Disease Control
National Vital Statistics Reports
Vital Statistics of the United States
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS's FastStats provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
MMWR Summary of Notifiable Diseases, United States, 2010
500 Cities Project by Centers for Disease Control/Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
CDC Community Health Status Indicators
CHR&R will now allow nationwide comparison of counties with similar populations based on key demographic, social, and economic indicators. This important collaboration allows CHR&R to deliver popular functionality of both CHSI and CHR&R products in one central location.
CDC Community Health Improvement Navigator

Religion and Charitable Information Sources

Religion Statistics and Geography (Adherents.com)
Association of Religion Data Archives
The Giving Institute
Publishers of Giving USA, an annual report that provides statistics and evaluation of the state of philanthropy during the previous year. Reports facts, and analyzes why giving was up or down for each subject area, foundations, corporations, or individuals.
National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS)
This is the national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the U.S. Its mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data about nonprofit organizations and their activities.

Links and Other Data Sources

Long Term Care Resources – Nursing Homes in the United States
Medicare
Nursing Home Compare
Top American Hospitals
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
U.S. Department of Justice. Office of Justice Programs
Community Commons
Data, tools, and stories to improvie communities and inspire change. Also includes information on The 500 Cities Project: Local data for better health.
500 Cities: Local Data for Better Health, 2017 release
Illinois Bigger Cities (over 6000 residents)
Community Health Dashboards
Healthy People 2030
Community Health Needs Assessment
CHNA.org is a free website that offers county-specific health data and resources and free access to a range of GIS mapping capabilities. Data is based on census tract information.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Nursing 361 Nursing Care of Populations (Springfield)

Assignment Guidelines

Libraries - tabbed

General U.S. and State Resources

Federal Statistics Sources

Census Data

Educational Statistics

Illinois Specific Resources

Illinois Business Resouces

Other Illinois Information Sources

Counties in Illinois - Health Needs Assessment - tabbed

Christian County - Public Health Department

Taylorville Memorial Hospital

Pana Hospital

Logan County - Public Health Department

CDC - Center for Disease Control Information

Religion and Charitable Information Sources

Links and Other Data Sources

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library