Provides current and archived news content from more than 12,000 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ]
Current articles from ethnic-focused news groups worldwide.
The general categories of ethnic groups represented in the Ethnic NewsWatch database are:
Daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians, Alaska Natives and First Nations. It was founded in 1981 as The Lakota Times and changed the publication's name in 1992 to Indian Country Today
Podcast of The Red Nation, a political formation dedicated to the liberation of Native peoples from capitalism and colonialism. We center Native political agendas and struggles through direct action, advocacy, mobilization, and education
ALM – as referred to in court documents – is a Navajo and Cherokee toddler. When he was a baby, a white couple from the suburbs of Dallas wanted to adopt him, which the Indian Child Welfare Act (1978) prohibited. So they got one of the most powerful corporate law firms in the United States to sue that the law was unconstitutional. This case doesn’t just impact the future of one child, or even the future of one law. It threatens the entire legal structure defending Native American rights. The second season of This Land is a timely exposé about how the far right is using Native children to quietly dismantle American Indian tribes and advance a conservative agenda.
America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
America: History and Life is a resource for a variety of disciplines, including:
* American Studies
* Interdisciplinary Studies
* Multicultural Studies
* Popular Culture
* Women's Studies/Gender Studies
* History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law
AnthroSource is an online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists.
AnthroSource is an online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). It is a portal to information about the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. AnthroSource provides current content 32 AAA publications.
ATLA indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 488,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 215,000 essay citations from over 15,700 multi-author works, and more than 446,000 book review citations. This database begins in 1949 although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
A unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological and prehistory studies.
The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is a cross-cultural database that currently contains nearly 60,000 pages of information on the world's prehistory. This unique, annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are all subject-indexed to the paragraph level. A unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
The eHRAF databases are produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University. The mission of HRAF, a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, is to encourage and facilitate worldwide and other comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.
Cultural and social information is organized by ethnic groups and deep-indexed.
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University. The mission of HRAF, a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, is to encourage and facilitate worldwide and other comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.
LLBA covers disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Covered dates are 1973 - current, with monthly updates.
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Project MUSE® offers more than 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Publication of the Institute on Race Relations, (U.K.) from 2000 to present.
Publication of the Institute on Race Relations, a society active in the U.K. Contains bibliographic essays and cross-referenced indexes of articles in journal literature, books and websites on the topic of race relations. Dates of publication: 2000 to present.
Union catalog with holdings information from libraries across the world.
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information from 2100 B.C. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world. Now includes the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. Includes records produced by Connextion users.