100,000 pages of autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files offering a direct window into Indian attitudes toward the earliest European settlers and the resultant transformations that took place, first as trade was established and later as displacement forced tribes into unfamiliar territories. The collection presents the entire spectrum of native peoples’ experiences from their own point of view.
Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past, and includes Early American Newspapers Series 1, 6 and 7, which cover dates from 1690-1922.
America's Historical Newspapers contains Early American Newspapers, which is a digital collection of colonial and early national period newspapers with over two million issues from American colonies and states from the 17th to the early 20th centuries. The web version contains digital images of each page, searchable OCR text corresponds to each image, and format to allow easy magnification.
They provide a primary source for research in history, political science, American Studies, and journalism.
comprehensive digital access to the American Antiquarian Society's (AAS) collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
American periodicals originating between 1740-1940, covering two centuries of American history and culture. Full images with searchable text.
Subject: U.S. history and culture
Content: American periodicals originating between 1741-1941, covering two centuries of Americana
Format: ASCII background searchable text, full image
Why it’s Unique:
• 200 years of American history
• Now complete! 7 million page images, over 1,100 periodicals
• Major events and everyday life in full image
• Interface customized for searching historical content
This archival database features high-quality indexing of historical literature on a variety of art topics from the years 1929 to 1984. Chronicling over half a century of art literature, it covers fine, decorative, and commercial art.
Art Index Retrospective contains hundreds of titles from feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, and editorials.
Founded in 1824 the BIA provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives in 573 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Native Villages in the United States. Contains program and policy information, as well as press releases dating back to 1953
A unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological and prehistory studies.
The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is a cross-cultural database that currently contains nearly 60,000 pages of information on the world's prehistory. This unique, annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are all subject-indexed to the paragraph level. A unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
The eHRAF databases are produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University. The mission of HRAF, a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, is to encourage and facilitate worldwide and other comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.
Cultural and social information is organized by ethnic groups and deep-indexed.
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University. The mission of HRAF, a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, is to encourage and facilitate worldwide and other comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.
In cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, EBSCO Publishing created a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.
The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
Trial access until September 2022 to over 300 primary source products including archival collections, government documents, periodicals, newspapers, video and more! Includes records of Major Council Meetings of American Indian Nations; Bureau of Indian Affairs records; Reservation Surveys; records of US Army Continental Departments overseeing wars with Native American nations; Files of the Office of the Commissary General of Subsistence overseeing Indian Removal; also includes records related to the Black Freedom Struggle, Women's Liberation, labor, immigration, war, and US statecraft in the 19th & 20th centuries
Search Indian claims content including decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission (a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes), and related statutes and congressional publications.
The “Indians of the Midwest, Past and Present” website is intended to build on the Newberry Library’s traditional mission to facilitate the production and distribution of high quality scholarship and its commitment to make the work of academic scholars accessible to the general public.
The Indians of the Midwest project has drawn on the expertise of a large network of Native and non-Native scholars affiliated with the D’Arcy McNickle Center for American Indian and Indigenous Studies.
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.
ProQuest Congressional Publications includes Congressional hearings, reports, and documents and the U.S. Serials Set and the American State Papers as well as the Congressional Record and its predecessors. Coverage begins in 1789 and is most complete through 1969. See also U.S. Congressional Serials Set.
ProQuest Congressional Publications (1789-1969) is an collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set does not normally include the text of debates, bills, resolutions, hearings, and committee prints, unless specifically ordered to be included by Congress. Specifically, this collection contains, retrospectively, up to 180 years of the following types of publications:
Congressional journals, and administrative reports, directories, manuals, and related internal publications.
Annually submitted reports from Federal executive agencies reviewing current problems and activities under agency purview.
Extended series of survey, research and statistical publications developed by executive agencies.
Selected annual or special reports of nongovernmental agencies.
Provides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Courier, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and Washington Post.
Studies the unique problems of American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native peoples and to propose legislation to alleviate these difficulties. These issues include, but are not limited to, Indian education, economic development, land management, trust responsibilities, health care, and claims against the United States. Additionally, all legislation proposed by Members of the Senate that specifically pertains to American Indians, Native Hawaiians, or Alaska Natives is under the jurisdiction of the Committee.
While treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands. Search the U.S. map by Cession number to find the specific treaty originally ceding any part of the land to the U.S. government. Treaty documentation often contains subsequent decisions and rulings which altered original agreements further.
Union catalog with holdings information from libraries across the world.
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information from 2100 B.C. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world. Now includes the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. Includes records produced by Connextion users.