Skip to Main Content

Public Policy Research

A guide to researching the different aspects of researching public policies at the local and national levels.

Research into Policy

Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS Index)
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
This database is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current)
Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1909 - current)
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
Sociological Abstracts
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

History Databases

America: History and Life
America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

America: History and Life is a resource for a variety of disciplines, including:

* History
* American Studies
* Anthropology
* Genealogy
* Interdisciplinary Studies
* Literature/Folklore
* Multicultural Studies
* Popular Culture
* Sociology
* Women's Studies/Gender Studies
* History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law
Historical Abstracts
Historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Published since 1954, this database has long been recognized as among the leading bibliographies for historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
CQ Congressional Quarterly Weekly
Congressional Quarterly's weekly magazine on current government, commerce and politics (1983 to 2016).
The CQ News team – by far the largest on Capitol Hill – provides continuous comprehensive coverage of the week in Congress, bill status & vote reports and updates on all committees. CQ Weekly is written in plain-English prose that makes it easy for experts and novices alike to understand complex legislation and its ramifications.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, surveys, research and statistical series published by Congress and Federal executive agencies; compiled under directive of the Congress.

Note: Also includes ProQuest Congressional Record
The U.S. Congressional Serials Set (1789-1969) is an collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set does not normally include the text of debates, bills, resolutions, hearings, and committee prints, unless specifically ordered to be included by Congress. Specifically, this collection contains, retrospectively, up to 180 years of the following types of publications:

Congressional journals, and administrative reports, directories, manuals, and related internal publications.
Annually submitted reports from Federal executive agencies reviewing current problems and activities under agency purview.
Extended series of survey, research and statistical publications developed by executive agencies.
Selected annual or special reports of nongovernmental agencies.

Includes the following collections:
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Maps Digital Collection
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part A 1970-1979
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part B 1980-1989
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part C 1990-2003
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part D 2004-2010

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2024 4:36 PM
URL: https://researchguides.uic.edu/publicpolicy
Print Page

Subjects: Political Science, Social Work, Urban Planning & Public Affairs