There are four $300 awards, one each to an undergraduate and graduate student:
Library Resources: Recognizes exceptional research using materials held in or facilitated through the UIC Library and the Library of the Health Sciences.
Special Collections & University Archives: Recognizes exceptional research using archives, rare books, maps, or other primary sources located in the UIC Special Collections and University Archives.
How many students apply?
2018: One undergraduate and 3 graduate students applied for the Special Collections & University Archives award; 8 undergraduates and 9 graduate students applied for the Library Resources award.
2017: One undergraduate applied for the Special Collections & University Archives award; 8 undergraduates and 2 graduate students applied for the Library Resources award.
When can I apply?
The application period begins on the day of the UIC Impact and Research Day in April and ends on the day after final exams end.
How do I apply?
Applications are accepted online between April and May of each year.
What do I need to submit with my application?
For your application, you will be asked to submit the following:
Your project in the best possible format: Research paper, website, poster, recording of a performance, digital object, etc.
A 2-3 pages reflective essay about your research process: In this essay you will describe your experience developing a research project in which you address the following components (you can also include visual representation of your research process):
What steps did you take to find relevant information?
How did the library’s resources and services assist in your research process?
How did you combine the ideas gathered from multiple sources?
What kind of challenges did you encounter? How did your thinking about research evolve from this experience?
Can I submit more than one project?
Yes, as long as the projects were completed in this academic year.
I've read the criteria (post link) but I'm still not sure if my project is eligible for an award. Who can I ask?