Skip to Main Content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

University Library Research Awards

The University Library Research Awards recognize outstanding research completed using University Library collections and research tools.

2018 UIC Library Award Recipients

Best Use of UIC Library Research Tools and Materials Award – Graduate

Ryan Walsh, Department of Occupational Therapy

"Activity Engagement and Everyday Technology Use Among Older Adults in an Urban Area"
With Ruxandra Drasga, Prof. Jenica Lee, Caniece Leggett, Holly Shapnick, and Prof. Anders Kottorp

Best Use of UIC Library Research Tools and Materials Award – Undergraduate

Annabel C. Clodius, Departments of Biological Sciences and Psychology

"Keeping the Hippocratic Oath Alive: How Requiring Medical Ethics in the Collegiate Pre-medicine Curriculum Will Later Counteract Empathy Decline in Medical Students"
With Prof. Eric Swirsky

Special Collections and University Archives Student Research Award – Graduate

Marla McMackin, Department of History

"Potential Delinquents: Chicago Youth, Hull House, and the War on Poverty" (Dissertation Proposal)

Special Collections and University Archives Student Research Award – Undergraduate

Amanda McDonald, Departments of Sociology and African American Studies

"A Diaspora of the Persistence to Thrive:  Students of the African American Studies Department at the University of Illinois at Chicago"

2017 UIC Library Award Recipients

Best Use of UIC Library Research Tools and Materials Award – Graduate

Eric Cuevas, Division of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, School of Public Health
Exposure to Glyphosate in the Agricultural Sector: A Systematic Review of Biomonitoring Results and Potential Exposures

Eric Cuevas met with Library of the Health Sciences – Chicago librarian Rosie Hanneke following a Capstone Literature Review Workshop. Throughout the semester they worked on organizing and evaluating articles for a systematic review. Cuevas searched the PubMed and Web of Science databases to identify 1,089 articles which he narrowed to eight illustrating a relationship between biomonitoring results and the measured potential exposure for glyphosate (a probable carcinogen) in the agricultural sector. 

Best Use of UIC Library Research Tools and Materials Award – Undergraduate

Tina Saenz, Department of History
Degenerate “Art”: Hitler’s Final Solution for Modern Art

Tina Saenz’s project was a requirement for History 440, a research seminar on the home front during World Wars I and II. She investigated how Hitler and the National Socialist Party used the Degenerate “Art” (Entartete “Kunst”) exhibition to shape German identity. Tina needed both primary sources (mostly newspaper articles written in the 1930s and 1940s in English) and secondary sources (books and peer reviewed articles). Her search strategies included using I-Share to borrow materials from other libraries in Illinois, following footnotes from secondary sources and a Library search limited to peer reviewed articles

Crissel Arban, Department of Biological Sciences
The Impact of Ageism and Enculturation on Young Adult Filipino American Preferences for Elder Care

Crissel Arban’s project, part of an Honors College Capstone, examined differences in enculturation and ageism among young adult Filipinos/ by gender. She conducted a one-time cross-sectional online survey that was used to determine the levels of enculturation and ageism of the respondents and assess other characteristics and preferences. Crissel used the PsycARTICLES database to discover an ageism scale that could test for dimensions such as succession, identity and consumption. Her literature review drew on the PsycINFO database as well as Web of Science, PubMed and Scopus.

Special Collections and University Archives Student Research Award

Griffin Jones, Department of History
Mexicans at the Hull House, 1920-1939

Griffin Jones completed his project for History/Gender and Women’s Studies 292: History and Theories of Feminism in fall 2016. His essay addressed how Hull-House on Chicago’s Near West Side fit into Mexican community and identity formation during the 1920s and later during the Great Depression. He used the Library’s Special Collections and University Archives Hull-House collection and the Immigrants’ Protective League records to conduct his research.