Why Use Comprehensive Textbooks As A Starting Point?
Textbooks usually offer a broad, synthesized overview and background for understanding topics and contexts. Comprehensive textbooks will often present a multi-faceted perspective, including dimensions of problems, which may be unfamiliar to their readers. These resources provide background for readers that enables their appreciation of the scope, complexity, and interlinking facets of topics. Textbooks are considered tertiary information sources since they aim to review and synthesize the "state of the art" and/or "state of the science" related to a topic in a given timeframe. Textbooks or tertiary knowledge resources utilize primary (original) research and secondary research (sub-topically limited integrative reviews of primary research) to build a panoramic view of the state of the evidence in a topic or knowledge domain, including a large range of sub-topics. These sub-topics may include special population variations or circumstances as well as interprofessional and interdisciplinary issues.
Understanding the contexts and specific circumstances of patients or communities in ethical cases or policy formulations is vital to identifying the kinds of questions and information required to form an opinion, identify relevant norms and values, embrace complex and competing considerations (i.e., more than one ethical or policy principle is involved), recognize diverse stakeholders, or appraise guidelines for specific applicability. Textbooks often reflect the current professional practices, social norms and professional values in a given (historical or current) timeframe as well as areas of controversy or branching opinion. They may include references to seminal articles, precedent setting cases, authoritative organizations, leading researchers or theorists, frameworks and models, and much more. They help you orient to a topic and discover the disciplinary jargon or terms of art within a domain of practice or research. There terms can be used in further literature searching for original (primary) research or secondary reviews considering topical facets.
Most of the textbooks considering a specific topic in healthcare contain sections addressing ethics or policies.
Recommended E-books by Professor Swirsky
Resolving Ethical Dilemmas by ISBN: 9781451176407Publication Date: 2013-02-05Resolving Ethical Dilemmas: A Guide for Clinicians, Fifth Edition Now in its Fifth Edition, this respected reference helps readers tackle the common and often challenging ethical issues that affect patient care. The book begins with a concise discussion of clinical ethics that provides the background information essential to understanding key ethical issues. Readers then explore a wide range of real-world ethical dilemmas, each accompanied by expert guidance on salient issues and how to approach them. The book's two-color design improves retention of material for visual learners. An accompanying website lets readers access the full text, along with features designed to reinforce understanding and test knowledge. New to the Fifth Edition: This edition includes new discussions of ethical issues as they relate to clinical practice guidelines and evidence-based medicine, electronic medical records, genetic testing, and opioid prescription. The book also includes an increased focus on ethical issues in ambulatory care. Readers will also find more detailed analysis of cases, more examples of ethical reasoning, more highlight pages relating clinical ethics to emergency medicine, oncology, palliative care, and family medicine. Also new are discussions of quality improvement and use of advance care planning rather than advance directives.
A Companion to Bioethics by ISBN: 9781405163316Publication Date: 2009-10-19This second edition of A Companion to Bioethics, fully revised and updated to reflect the current issues and developments in the field, covers all the material that the reader needs to thoroughly grasp the ideas and debates involved in bioethics. Thematically organized around an unparalleled range of issues, including discussion of the moral status of embryos and fetuses, new genetics, life and death, resource allocation, organ donations, AIDS, human and animal experimentation, health care, and teaching Now includes new essays on currently controversial topics such as cloning and genetic enhancement Topics are clearly and compellingly presented by internationally renowned bioethicists A detailed index allows the reader to find terms and topics not listed in the titles of the essays themselves
Conflict of Interest in Medical Research, Education, and Practice by ISBN: 9780309131889Publication Date: 2009-10-16
ACCESS MEDICINE REFERENCES - EXEMPLIFYING THE DEPTH OF BOOK COLLECTIONS
The ACCESS MEDICINE COLLECTION contains many e-Books spanning diverse topics in Ethics, which pertain to all the professions working in healthcare. Here is a link to this this collection of over 1200 textbooks addressing facets of Ethics. http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com.proxy.cc.uic.edu/
This collection can be searched by entering Ethics in the search box. NARROW BY TOPIC and a NARROW BY TEXTBOOK filters allow you to target topics of special interest. The title filter helps you hone by the profession or discipline - for example GENOMICS and PROFESSIONALISM appear in titles but are not on the topics listing.
Below are a few titles to give a sense of the depth of this collection.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics 2E by
The link opens to the ethics section of the book.
A Doody's Core Title for 2015! An authoritative, one-stop source of answers on conditions commonly encountered among older adults For more than 70 years, professors, students, and clinicians have trusted LANGE for high-quality, current, concise medical information in a convenient, affordable, portable format. Whether for coursework, clerkships, USMLE prep, specialty board review, or patient care, there's a LANGE book that guarantees success. Provides a framework for using the functional and cognitive status, prognosis, and social context of patients to guide diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions Applies the principles of geriatric medicine in different care settings to address common clinical scenarios and common geriatric conditions Includes valuable information on health promotion and disease Delivers essential information on important topics such as delirium, cognitive impairment, dementia, falls and mobility disorders, Parkinson and other movement disorders, sleep disorders, and arthritis Covers special geriatric considerations in cardiovascular health, cancers, endocrine disorders, skin problems, respiratory disease, and renal disorders Concise, practical, and current diagnostic and treatment information on the most common health problems of older adults The best quick reference for busy clinicians who provide care for older patients Valuable to students, residents, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, internists, and family physicians. Includes guidance on care in all settings - clinic, home, hospital, and long-term care, as well as pre- and post-operative settings
ISBN: 9780071792080Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Handbook for Health Care Ethics Committees by
The Joint Commission (TJC) accredits and certifies more than 19,000 health care organizations in the United States, including hospitals, nursing homes, and home care agencies. Each organization must have a standing health care ethics committee to maintain its status. These interdisciplinary committees are composed of physicians, nurses, attorneys, ethicists, administrators, and interested citizens. Their main function is to review and provide resolutions for specific, individual patient care problems. Many of these committees are well meaning but may lack the information, experience, skills, and formal background in bioethics needed to adequately negotiate the complex ethical issues that arise in clinical and organizational settings. Handbook for Health Care Ethics Committees was the first book of its kind to address the myriad responsibilities faced by ethics committees, including education, case consultation, and policy development. Adopting an accessible tone and using a case study format, the authors explore serious issues involving informed consent and refusal, decision making and decisional capacity, truth telling, the end of life, palliative care, justice in and access to health care services, and organizational ethics. The authors have thoroughly updated the content and expanded their focus in the second edition to include ethics committees in other clinical settings, such as long-term care facilities, small community hospitals, rehabilitation centers, and hospices. They have added three new chapters that address reproduction, disability, and the special needs of the elder population, and they provide additional specialized policies and procedures on the book's website. This guide is an essential resource for all health care ethics committee members.
ISBN: 9781421416571Publication Date: 2015-05-21
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients 2E (Lange) by
The leading reference and text on caring for underserved patients and those with highly unique health requirements - updated and expanded in full color Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice and Populations, Second Edition is designed to clarify current issues and instruct you in best practices and compliance with legislation, such as the Affordable Care Act, when caring for patients living with chronic diseases in poor and minority populations. How do these laws affect you, your practice, and patient care? Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients is ideally suited for clinical and educational programs and policy-oriented institutions concerned with addressing health disparities and caring for the underserved and vulnerable patient. Comprehensive in scope and authored by many of the leading names in the field, the book takes complex concepts and issues and helps you understand them, resulting in a "roadmap" to guide real-world applications and compliance with the terms of the law. Each chapter integrates key concepts, core competencies, and common pitfalls and concludes with useful lists of web resources and stimulating discussion questions. Highlights of the Second Edition: Fully revised to reflect passage and impact of the Affordable Care Act on care of underserved patients Expanded with major new chapters, from Health Quality to Rural Healthcare, and additional content relevant to nursing Focused on evidence-based practice with a patient-centered approach Full color presentation Boxed main points and Practical Pearls, such as how to write a disability letter
ISBN: 9780071834445Publication Date: 2017
USING THE CATALOG TO IDENTIFY ETHICS, LAW, AND POLICY RESOURCES
EXAMPLE: This illustrates a CATALOG search for ELECTRONIC BOOKS in the SUBJECTS of NURSING and ETHICS with the KEYWORD LAW, published since 2000 in English. The search for nursing, ethics, and law as 3 subjects was not productive; thus, law was used as a keyword. Use the ADVANCED SEARCH option once you link to the catalog search page at https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/vf-uic/
ALL of the library's holdings should be available via the catalog, including books and journals. You can conduct the search above and look for journals too by checking the appropriate boxes in the ADVANCED SEARCH page. Be sure to select the timeframe and format (print, online).
ADDITIONAL COLLECTIONS OF TEXTBOOKS IN HEALTH PROFESSIONS
Over 1700 books were retrieved by a search for ETHICS CONSENT. When additional filters were added for the SUBJECT / CATEGORY - LEGAL ISSUES - the number of results reduced to 1: "Nurses Legal Handbook"
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified
- Ebook CentralEbooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
Consider using the SUBJECT fields to tightly target your search. Often you can use * (an asterisk or other symbol) to capture wildcard variations and plurals. For example, ethic* can be used to search the ProQuest Ebook Central database for ethical, ethic, or ethics. Here is an example of an ADVANCED SEARCH.
 |
- NCBI BookshelfFree access to books and documents in life science and healthcare from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
This illustrates a search of the NLM Bookshelf for books that speak to "medical futility" and "nursing homes".
- R2 Digital LibraryProvides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works.
- Sage Psychology Reference (ebooks) Example titles: Encyclopedia of Community, Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology, Encyclopedia of Group Processes & Intergroup Relations, Encyclopedia of Leadership, Encyclopedia of School Psychology
- SAGE Research MethodsProvides over 1,000 core texts as well as thousands of additional videos, cases, datasets, tools, and how-to guides for research methods across the disciplines.
Note, this search uses an ADVANCED SEARCH page filter to retrieve legal cases.
