Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Sources for the Study of Latin-Americans in Chicago: Archival Resources

A guide to conducting primary source research and finding relevant collections at the UIC Library, Special Collections and beyond.

About Special Collections

The Richard J. Daley Special Collections Department houses collections of rare books, manuscripts, and photographs. The rare book collection includes books of permanent, historic, and research interest focusing primarily on the history of Chicago. The manuscript holdings consist of records of individuals and organizations important to the history of Chicago. Images of these individuals, organizations, and Chicago form the core of the photographs and digital images collection.

Special Collections is open to the public during the following hours:

10-4:30, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday

10-7, Wednesday

Closed on holiday weekends and for occasional special events.

Phone: Richard J. Daley Library, Special Collections - 312.996.2742

-OR-

Ask A Librarian

Search for Archival Collections

The following databases can be used to search for archival materials from other libraries' collections.

Organizational Records and Personal Papers

The following archival collections from organizations contain material related to the experience of Mexican Americans and Mexican immigrants to Chicago. The links below lead to finding aids (lists of contents) for each collection.

Please visit Special Collections for assistance using these materials or Ask A Librarian.

About Me

Valerie Harris's picture
Valerie Harris
Contact:
Daley Library, Room 3-330

801 S. Morgan St.

Chicago, IL 60607

Ph: 312/996-2742
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact