Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Nursing History in Illinois

Special Collections and University Archives resources on the history of nursing

Nursing History Primary Sources in Special Collections and University Archives

The following nursing archival collections are available at the Library of Health Sciences - Chicago Special Collections and University Archives. Interested in more? Click here for the full list of collections at the LHS-C. Interested in browsing all of UIC Library's manuscript collections? View a list here.

University Archives

The University Archives contain records from the University of Illinois at Chicago and its predecessors.  Below is a list of some but not all of the nursing records available in the University Archives. Interested in more from the University Archives? Search or browse the holdings, or see A Guide to the UIC Archives for further research.

Administration
Office of the Dean - Administrative Files, 1955-1989
Office of the Dean - Curriculum Materials, 1949-1977
Historical Files, 1953-1983
Faculty Minutes, 1963-1983
Edna Anderson Files, 1963-1971
Helen Grace Papers, 1961-1982

Research and Graduate Studies
Concentration in Women's Health, 1970-2003

Department of General Nursing
Margaret Ellsworth Papers, 1948-1986
Beatrice Fisk Papers, 1904-1989, 1997

Department of Maternal-Child Nursing
Syllabi and related material, 1974-1994
Arlene Krieger Burroughs Papers, 1954-1979

Department of Public Health Nursing
Curriculum Materials, 1868-1974
Virginia Ohlson Papers, ca. 1920-2003

Nurse Scientist Program
Nurse Scientist Program, 1969-1976

Faculty Papers
Suzanne Feetham Papers, 1976-2002
Myra Levine Papers, ca.1960-1990s
Lillian Runnerstrom Papers, 1945-2004
Harriet H. Werley Papers, 1959-2002

Nursing History Books

To find more titles on nursing in the Library of Health Sciences - Chicago, search the University of Illinois at Chicago Library Catalog. Or make an appointment with a librarian