Learn More About EBM...
For more information about Evidence Based Medicine, visit our Evidence Based Medicine Research Guide (link provided below) for tutorials about EBM and resources for finding appropriate scientific literature.
Finding the Evidence
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - Essential Evidence PlusCurrent answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. You must register for an account using your uic.edu email in order to access Essential Evidence Plus.
- MEDLINE through Ovid (1947 to Present)National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- Trip Pro
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS - CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
National Guideline Clearinghouse - No Longer Available
Funding from the AHRQ National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) ceased on July 16, 2018. NGC is no longer available (see AHRQ statement for more details). Alternatives: Search the Trip Pro database and limit to 'Guidelines'; or Search specific association and organization websites for their practice guidelines.
PubMed@UIC
Full Text Access
Find full text articles from all our UIC Library databases by clicking on
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use Interlibrary Loan to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library. You will need to create an ILLiad account to request articles.
RefWorks
