Literature
- PubMedUse Pubmed to access biomedical literature from Medline.
- EMBASEEMBASE (Excerpta Medica Database) is an online database which indexes journal literature in the fields of biomedicine and pharmacology. It has a more European/Pacific rim journal collection.
- Health Source: consumer editionConsumer health information including reference books, reports and pamphlets, drug information and more
- Cochrane LibraryCochrane specializes in analyzing and summarizing research studies. This resource is the gold standard in systematic review information.
- CINAHLNursing and allied health literature
Research Tools
- MEDLINEPlus
Consumers' health information produced by the National Library of Medicine that is authoritative and up to date.
- ScopusSCOPUS is a tool that allows researchers to track literature through their citations. It also can perform analysis on the citation results.
- SimplyAnalytics
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data, the PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, and the Community Lifestages dataset. The CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created.
To save your searches, you need to sign up for an account using your UIC email address.
Access restricted to 5 concurrent users. - Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
