Recommended Research Databases
The UIC Library has access to hundreds of databases, so if you're not finding information in the ones listed on this guide please contact a librarian so we can recommend others to you! (Alternatively, you can look on other research guides for topic-specific databases, or browse all of them on our Databases A-Z page.)
For Background/Overview Information
- Rehabilitation Reference Center
Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of: Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration
- Nutrition Evidence LibraryExplore systematic reviews and more on this USDA "Center for Nutrition Policy & Promotion" research portal.
For Research Articles
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine SourceRehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source provides indexing for over 200 sports medicine and rehabilitation journals.
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 17,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Recommended E-Journals
Find additional journals in print and electronic format by entering an "Advanced Search" in the library catalog (sport? OR kinesiology OR exercise), limit format to Journals/Magazines.
- Clinical Journal of Sport Medicinefrom 01/01/2000 to present in Journals@Ovid LWW Total Access Collection
- Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychologyfrom 03/01/1988 to present in Human Kinetics Journals
- Journal of Applied Psychologyfrom 03/01/1917 to present in APA PsycArticles
- Journal of Personality and Social Psychologyfrom 01/01/1965 to present in APA PsycArticles
- International Journal of Behavioral Medicinefrom 01/01/1997 to present in SpringerLINK Contemporary (CIC)
- Disease ManagementTitle changed to Population Health Management 2008-present
Determining if a Journal is Peer-Reviewed: Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
How do I know if my article comes from a peer-reviewed journal?
- You can use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to check to see if a particular journal is peer-reviewed. If it is, the record will include the referree jacket icon depicted above, meaning that the journal is "refereed"/peer-reviewed
- Peer-reviewed journals contain articles that have been carefully reviewed by experts in a particular field of study to ensure that the research they present meets high standards of quality
- Peer-reviewed journals are also referred to as scholarly, academic, or refereed
- Common characteristics of peer-reviewed journal articles:
- they have an abstract, which is a paragraph at the beginning of the article summarizing the content and findings of the article
- the authors are affiliated with academic institutions (most often colleges and universities)
- the articles are long (usually anywhere from 10-35 pages) and primarily text-based (pictures included are usually charts and graphs, as opposed to glossy photos as in popular magazines)
- they contain a lengthy bibliography (also called "references," or "works cited" list). You can use this list to find additional sources on your topic.
Connect to Ulrich's Using the Link below:
- Ulrichsweb/Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Ulrichweb provides comprehensive information on serials published throughout the world.