Subject and Course Guides: HN 313: Introduction to Community Nutrition: Policy Resources

Gateways to Government Information

USA.gov
USA.gov creates and organizes timely, needed government information and services and makes them accessible to the public anytime, anywhere, via their channel of choice.
GovInfo.Gov
Govinfo.gov is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.

Govinfo.gov provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
CyberCemetery: University of North Texas Government Information Connection
The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report).
more...less...
This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information. In particular, this collection features websites that cover topics supporting the university’s curriculum and particular program strengths.

Federal Information: Selected Sites

Government and Public Policy Databases

CQ : Congressional Quarterly Researcher
Provides snapshots of current affairs. Single-themed reports are researched and written by experienced observers from a range of viewpoints. From 1923 to present.
CQ Researcher Reports are published 44 times per year and cover political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.

ERIC
Major Education Database.
more...less...
ERIC is a national education database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI). Presently the largest education database in the world, ERIC contains over one million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. Researchers, teachers, policymakers, librarians, journalists, students, parents, and the general public will all find ERIC a key source for education information. In addition to ERIC subject descriptors and extensive abstracts, citations include detailed source, geographic, institutional, and availability information.

Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS Index)
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
This database is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
The Roper Center is the world's largest archives of public opinion information. UIC users have access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys using RoperExpress. The databank itself, iPOLL, is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935.

Websites

AARP Public Policy Institute
The Public Policy Institute informs and stimulates public debate on the issues we face as we age. The Institute promotes development of sound, creative policies to address our common need for economic security, health care, and quality of life. (AARP)
APHA Public Health Policy Statements
APHA members develop policy statements on key public health topics, from obesity control to breastfeeding to control of infectious diseases to eliminating health disparities. (APHA)
CDC Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity - Legislation
This system contains over 5,500 policies related to Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. (CDC)
GovTrack.us
Track bills in Congress, your representative’s voting records, upcoming committee meetings, and get alerts by email. (GovTrack.us) State tracking is in Beta.
Urban Institute Health Policy Center
The Urban Institute’s Health Policy Center analyzes trends and underlying causes of changes in health insurance coverage, access to care, and use of health care services by the entire US population. Researchers address issues that arise from the inevitable trade-offs among health care costs, access, and quality. (HPC)

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

HN 313: Introduction to Community Nutrition: Policy Resources

Gateways to Government Information

Federal Information: Selected Sites

Government and Public Policy Databases

Websites

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library