PubMed@UIC
Useful Websites
Other Useful Guides
Nutrition Databases
- AGRICOLAFrom the USDA, the National Agricultural Library Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations from 1979 to present.
- FoodData CentralThe USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference contains data on over 8,000 food items and up to 150 food components.
- Nutrition Evidence LibraryExplore systematic reviews and more on this USDA "Center for Nutrition Policy & Promotion" research portal.
- Evidence Analysis LibraryAcademy of Nutrition and Dietetics (previously the American Dietetics Academy) provides a library of evidence-based research on several topics in nutrition. Some content unavailable to non-AND members.
Health Sciences Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica DatabaseDatabase in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
- HAPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments :Information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests). Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information including reference books, reports and pamphlets, drug information and more.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine SourceRehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source provides indexing for over 200 sports medicine and rehabilitation journals.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center
Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of: Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Grey Research/ Grey Literature
The definition commonly used to describe grey literature comes from the Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature in Washington, DC (October, 1999):
"That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers."
Learn more from the New York Academy of Medicine, Grey Literature Report: http://www.greylit.org/about
Types of Grey Literature
| Census, economic and other data sources | Conference proceedings and abstracts | Databases of ongoing research; registered clinical trials |
| Electronic networks (Listserv archives, etc.) | Informal communications (phone conversations, email, meetings, etc.) | Newsletters, trade journals |
| Preprints of e-journal articles | White papers | Research reports (completed and uncompleted) |
| Technical reports | Theses and Dissertations | Web log (blog); government websites & documents |
Where to find it?
Professional Organization Websites (Does your working group have a professional organization? A union? Do they have anything to say about work-related injuries? A policy paper, newsletter article, fact sheet, training manual, etc. can be considered grey literature.)
Government Websites (Almost everything from the government is grey literature! Think about resources from the CDC/NIOSH, DOL, laws, data from the Census, etc.)
- UIC Grey Literature GuideFrom our Nursing Research Guide, this page provides an overview of grey literature and where to find it.
- Lister Hill Library Grey Literature GuideMore information, including videos, about grey literature from the Lister Hill Library.
