Full Text Access
Find full text articles from all our UIC Library databases by clicking on
Newspaper Databases
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Courier, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and Washington Post.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Current major newspapers and selected regional newspapers plus newscast transcripts. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.
General/Multidisciplinary Databases
The general databases listed below are a good place to begin research but they often provide limited coverage. Use subject-specific databases to find more articles on your topic.
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Subject-Specific Databases
Subject-specific databases offer in-depth coverage of specific disciplines or subject areas. The databases listed below are recommended based on the overall theme of your English 161 course. In addition, Easy Search allows you to search across many categories and databases.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteFull text coverage of communication and mass media and related fields.
- Criminal Justice AbstractsCoverage of criminal justice and substance abuse. From 1968 to present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Current articles from ethnic-focused news groups worldwide.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- Political Science Abstracts WorldwideInternational literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. From 1975 to present. See also Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
RefWorks
