PSL Assignments On This Page
The PSL course is designed so that you have an opportunity to use your new knowledge and skills immediately. You demonstrate this use through the construction an Assignment Document - a word document that you build with screenshots and answers to questions. Please build your Assignment Document in order and with care. Many of the assignments you will enter into the document involve pasting a screenshot or snip image into the document so you can display your work.
Link to an instruction on making a snip:http://www.wikihow.com/Take-a-Screenshot-with-the-Snipping-Tool-on-Microsoft-Windows
There are 3 PSL assignments on this page -
1) Send a screenshot or snip of this screen showing the RefWorks section (bottom of this page) - to mdclark@uic.edu - so the librarian can verify that you know what this screen capture tool is about and that you have at least looked at RefWorks citation management information. No other work is required here beyond the snip. You are advised to read the section for important information if you want to use RefWorks for your citation manager.
2) ILLIAD registration and a practice exercise.
3) Another multi-step assignment for MYNCBI. There is also a request for a screenshot or snip of a screen required so the librarian can verify that you understand this tool and can use it throughout the assignment document.
After you complete this assignment, go to TAB 6 and complete all of the assignments, which run from the top of the page to the bottom.
ILLIAD - Interlibrary Loan For Full-Text Articles And The "FIND IT @ UIC" Button
1. ILLIAD - for interlibrary loans. This service brings you electronic copies of articles, which are not automatically available in the LHS full-text holdings. ILLIAD delivery is rapid and you may have an article in 1-2 days!
Sign-up at: https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IAX/logon.html
To register, click on "First Time Users". Fill out the New User Registration for ILLIAD form. Be sure to use your UIC Netid as your username. This enables us to verify that you are enrolled in a UIC program. You may need your I-Card number, which starts with 28198 or 20111 - you only need to fill out the first page - don't worry about the Account Information page - just log out when the page asking for account information appears.
Once successfully registered, you may request materials that can be electronically reproduced and delivered, such as copies of articles and individual book chapters. ILLIAD requests only apply to materials LHS does not have in their electronic holdings.
FOR VISITING STUDENTS TAKING A SUMMER COURSE OR WHO DO NOT HAVE AN I-CARD BUT HAVE A NETID -- Since Distance Ed enrollees are rarely issued I-Cards, the Library ID number is not applicable. Enter N/A in this field. To help identify online and Distance Ed students to our staff, choose "Distance Ed" from the Status pull-down menu. Check with your program coordinator for any special instructions. Notify the librarian of your name, what class you are registered for, and the terms/dates.
2. The "Find It @ UIC" Button - How It Works
The "Find it @ UIC" button only appears if you have entered the database (e.g., PubMed) via the LHS library gateway. This button links you to the electronic full-text of an article if it is available. When you begin your database search via the LHS webpages, look for this icon in your search results! If you are in PubMed and do not see this button, you probably did not enter PubMed through the LHS website.
If the article is not available electronically through the library's subscriptions, you will be presented with this message - "Article is not available in electronic format." Please check the catalog for print holdings, especially for articles before 1996. If we own the print version, you will be able to make a copy in person at the library.
To request a scan of a full-text article via ILLIAD (Interlibrary loan), scroll down the page that indicates the library holdings to ILLIAD's link for LHS users - "Library of the Health Sciences - Chicago"
The information required to process the interlibrary loan should populate the form automatically if you access ILLIAD from the Distance Ed link. Interlibrary loan often takes as little as 1-2 days. A message is sent to your UIC email that your article has arrived. Login to ILLIAD at https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IAX/illiad.dll?Action=99.-- After logging into ILLIAD, look on the left-sidebar look for the link labelled "Electronically Received Articles."
3. a. Watch a brief video, in which Rebecca Raszewski demonstrates the use of the "Find it @ UIC" button and ILLIAD in the context of a CINAHL database search https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4CifJgDPsY
MYNCBI - PubMed's Search & Citation Management Toolbox
MYNCBI - PubMed's online bibliographic management system and more - use it to save collections, save searches with automated emails, create bibliographies....
Sign-up at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/account/
Note: The login system for MyNCBI is currently in transition, so you will need to sign up using one of the 3rd party sign-in options. You can use one of the ones initially listed, or you can click "See more 3rd party sign in options" and then do a search for University of Illinois Chicago to use your UIC login information.
About the two tutorials below -
PubMed My NCBI - This University of Maryland's HSHSL library tutorial will briefly introduce you to key MYNCBI account features - 1) Registration Process, 2) Save Search feature (now called Create Alert - look for a link like this under the PubMed search box), 3) and the Collections feature.
My NCBI Home Page - This tutorial was created by PubMed and tells you how to manage the boxes on your MYNCBI homepage. It is for more advanced users.
Many "Quick Tours" are available for brief instruction on PubMed's features and tools. Some of these tutorials are used in this guide, but you may want to explore the full range - link to http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmed.html
If you have trouble with MYNCBI...try this.
1. Logoff MYNCBI in every site and on every browser
2. Clear out all the bookmarks for all the browsers related to PubMed and MYNCBI links – Pubmed distinguishes browsers and treats them differently – you can be logged on in one browser and not another
3. Clear the caches in the browsers
4. Do not use the link from the MYNCBI sign up page to access MYNCBI again once you have registered
5. Use this link from the LHS Library page to access PubMed - http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?otool=uiclib
RefWorks - Citation Manager - Take a screenshot or snip of this box!
RefWorks - the citation management database can be accessed online from anywhere since it is in a cloud.
IMPORTANT: If you have another citation manager you prefer to RefWorks, please use it. We made this section optional because people have other citation managers they like.
OPTIONAL: View Rebecca Raszewski's video on signing up for Refworks https://youtu.be/KeOa0tG-4IY
Using your UIC netid, you can sign-up at: https://www.refworks.com/refworks2/default.aspx?r=authentication::init&groupcode=RWUIllChicago
The RefWorks Group Code may be needed for when you working off campus. You will need to login with your NETID and password to get the group code.
Familiarize yourself with the Refwork's tutorials page at YouTube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MuVb9j0mX6Y&list=PLC1C8A11EB1895C3B
See the LHS guide to citation managers, which covers more than RefWorks http://researchguides.uic.edu/refworks
These tutorials are well worth the time and provide an introduction to the many time-saving features associated with using Refworks to manage your citations and write your papers using Write-n-Cite.
A known problem - For Macs with the 2016 operating systems, you need download a special plug in for Word. Directions are in the PSL 401 blackboard site in the Library Orientation posting.
Refworks One-line Citation Method. There are infrequent issues with RefWorks' interface with Word. This link takes you to Rebecca Raszewski's brief tutorial on One-line
Cite View, a feature that will allow you to create in-text citations and work around any interface issues easily - http://screencast.com/t/3CgjJzZM8
ILLIAD Assignment
1. Read the ILLIAD instruction box.
2. Sign-up for ILLIAD.
3. Watch the Find IT @ UIC tutorial.
4. Enter PubMed through the LHS-Chicago Medicine homepage: http://library.uic.edu/lhs/chicago - Scroll down under Research Databases and select PubMed. Note, always go to the research databases and clinical tools via the library. Bookmark this Medicine page to make your path easy!
5. Perform a PubMed search by entering this PMID 8259118 number (use only the number) in the search box. The PMID is a unique number associated with each citation record.
Note, this article is not available in full-text. Use the "distance ed" library interlibrary loan link (middle of the page) and sign in to ILLIAD.
6. Take a screenshot or snip of the ILLIAD screen, which shows the interlibrary loan populated with the article details. Place this in your Assignment Document.
DO NOT USE THE SUBMIT BUTTON - this is for demonstration purposes only. LHS is charged for interlibrary loaned articles so you don't want to make the request unless you really want the document.
MYNCBI Assignment
1. Read the box content for the box entitled "MYNCBI - PubMed's Search & Citation Management Toolbox" on the left side.
2. View the 2 brief tutorials.
3. Sign-up for a MYNCBI account (you can use whatever email you like, but your email alerts will come to this email).
4. While you are logged into MyNCBI, perform a PubMed search by entering this string into the search box (simply cut and paste):
quality improvement and patient safety and residents and medical education
Currently, you retrieve about 156 citations from this search.
5. Use the save search feature by selecting the "Create Alert" link immediately below the PubMed search box. Create an email update once a month with 5 citations on Saturday. Place a snip or screenshot in your Assignment Document. (Note, until recently, Create Alert was called Save Search).
6. Return to the PubMed search results page. Select the top ten results (check the boxes on the left of the title). Go to the “Send to” pull-down menu (upper right) and select Clipboard. Press the save to Clipboard button. 10 items should be placed on the Clipboard (you should see a Clipboard link showing 10 items on the PubMed search results page in the upper right). Place a snip or screenshot of the Clipboard page in your Assignment Document. (Note, when you select the Clipboard link, you should see a page with only 10 results). You can select the Remove All Items link to clear away unwanted items from the Clipboard. Or, you can select a citation to discard and the link and you will offer you a Remove Selected Items option.
7. On the Clipboard page, select the top 3 results. Use the “Send to” pull-down menu to select Collections. Create a new collection and name it Temporary Assignment. Now, go to the MYNCBI link on your search results page. Open the link to view your MYNCBI account. Note, Recent Searches, Saved Searches, Collections. Place a snip or screenshot of your MYNCBI page in your Assignment Document.
8. On your MYNCBI homepage (link upper top, right link on the search results page), select the blue Manage Collections link beneath the Collections box. Select the Temporary Assignment collection and press the Delete button (top of this box) to clear away this collection. Place a snip or screenshot of the Collection page in your Assignment Document to show the cleared away collection.
9. Note, you can do many other managerial tasks from this page too. Go to the Collections Help link (top right hand) and when you see the PubMed offerings for the Collections page, make a snip or screenshot of the Collections Help page to add to your Assignment Document.
Adjusting The Volume On Tutorials
If the volume is low on the tutorials, please put your mouse over the black border at the bottom of the tutorial box. The controls should appear, including a volume and full-box control.