APRN Library Guide: Research Databases

Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.

CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.

Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.

PolicyMap is an data and mapping tool for accessing data about communities across the U.S. to make better-informed decisions without any prior experience.

A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data, the PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, and the Community Lifestages dataset. The CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. 

To save your searches, you need to sign up for an account using your UIC email address.

Access restricted to 5 concurrent users.

Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

Note: Social Explorer has developed a new libguide. To see the new libguide, you can go this link here 

Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.

Note: If you're unable to set up an IEEE account, go to https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/. After creating an account, go to IEEE in the library website and sign in.

Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

Provides information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Sources include journals (some peer-reviewed) and reports. 

This bibliographic database provides references to current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Access provided by the Consortium of Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI).

This database indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Access provided by the Consortium of Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI).

Provides bibliographic records on family studies topics including divorce, family therapy, marriage, and family dynamics. Access provided by the Consortium of Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI).

Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Access provided by the Consortium of Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI).