APRN Library Guide: Point-of-Care Tools

AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files.

AccessPediatrics provides access to text books, atlases, videos, and other resources related to pediatrics, information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review. Includes captions. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.

ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts. 

Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified

DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more. 

Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.

As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.

 

Physicians around the world use Isabel to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. By entering the information normally captured in a patient workup, Isabel provides physicians with a list of possible diagnoses to help them construct their thinking and make an accurate final diagnosis quickly and easily at the point of care.

Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.

Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:

Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS

UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.

Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.

VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.

Note: users can also sign up for a FREE VisualDx Personal Account by clicking the Quick Registration Link below while on your institution Wi-Fi network or VPN. VisualDX Institutional Login 
Access provided courtesy of the College of Medicine.