Skip to Main Content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

UIC Library Faculty Profile: Deborah Blecic, Professor Emerita: Presentations

Poster and Paper Presentations

 

Blecic, Deborah D. and Gretchen Schneider.  “Collaborative Collection Development.”  I presented the second year of our project at the CARLI Annual Meeting as one of two co-chairs of the CARLI Collection Management Committee, volunteered.  November 17, 2017.

Blecic, Deborah D., Elizabeth Clarage, and Niamh McGuigan.  “Trying to Jump-start Collaborative Collection Development: Finding Simple Methods for Effective Cooperation.”  Great Lakes Resource Sharing Conference, refereed, June 9, 2017.

Blecic, Deborah D.  “Collaborative Collection Development”.  I presented about the project of the CARLI Collection Management Committee at the CARLI Annual Meeting, volunteered as co-chair of committee, Novemer 18, 2016.

Moderator of the program and discussion, “Rolling with a Purpose” the 16th Annual Health Sciences Lively Lunch at the Charleston Conference, Charleston, SC, volunteered, November 4, 2016.

Blecic, Deborah D.  “Print Collaborative Collection Development Options” and “Collaborative Collection Development – Introduction”, one of three speakers for a CARLI webinar entitled CARLI Print and Electronic Collaborative Collection Development Options for Monographs in AY17.  Presented two of the four sections of the webinar and participated in the Q&A segment.  Presentation is archived at https://www.carli.illinois.edu/products-services/collections-management/collections-webinars , volunteered, May 9, 2016.  

Blecic, Deborah D.  “Recent Collections Assessment Projects at UIC”, presentation at the Collections Assessment Event of Library UX Chicago, invited, January 27, 2016.

De Groote, Sandra, Deborah Blecic, and Kristin Martin.  “Measures of Journal use- A Comparison of Vendor, Link-Resolver, and Local Citation Statistics- and What It Can Tell Your Library”, presentation at the CARLI Usage Statistics Forum, refereed, November 22, 2013.. 

Blecic, Deborah D.  “Methods of Measurement of Health Sciences Journal Use”, one of five speakers in a program session entitled A Guided Tour of Issues and Trends: The 13th Annual Health Sciences Lively Lunch at the 2013 Charleston Conference, invited, November 8, 2013.

Blecic, Deborah D.  ""Usage Data for Collection Development and Management: Changes, Issues, Local Utilization, Shared Possibilities.", Presentation at a program sponsored by OCLC entitled Library Analytics: Data to Inform Decision-making and Measure Impact, at the American Library Association Annual Meeting, invited, June 29, 2013.

Blecic, Deborah D.  “Utilizing Usage Data in Collection Development and Management”, Presentation followed by panel participation at an event at Northwestern University entitled Collective Insight: Driven by Shared Data and sponsored by OCLC, invited, May 31, 2013.

Blecic, Deborah D., Wendy Bahnsen, Susan Klimley, and Ramune Kubilius.  “Point of Care Tools and Libraries (the 12th Annual Health Sciences Lively Lunch), Moderator and coordinator of  the program and discussion at the 2012 Charleston Conference, November 9,2012. 

Martin, Kristin E., Deborah D. Blecic and Sandra L. De Groote.  “Comparison of Citation Use Patterns to Link Resolver and Vendor Statistics in Health Sciences Journals”.  Paper Presentation at the ALCTS Emerging Research in Collection Management & Development Forum and the American Library Association Annual Meeting, refereed, June24 2012.

Blecic, Deborah D., Stephen Wiberley Jr., Sandra De Groote, Mary Shultz, John Cullars, and Vivian Chan.  “Publication Patterns of U.S. Academic Librarians: 2003-2011”.  Poster presentation at the American Library Association Annual Meeting, refereed, June 24,2012. 

Blecic, Deborah D.  “Selection & Acquisition of E-books” . Presentation at the CARLI ICAT/IACQ Joint Forum entitled “Mostly Cloudy to Mostly Sunny: the Journey of the E-book.”, invited, May 4, 2012.

Blecic, Deborah D.  “E-Books in Health Sciences Libraries: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly!” One of three speakers on a panel about e-books in health sciences libraries at the 2011 Charleston Conference, November 4, 2011.

Blecic, Deborah D.  “E-Book Selection: Issues and Options”, one of five speakers for a webinar entitled “2011 Medical E-Book Publishing Trends", online, June 28, 2011.  

DeGroote, Sandra L., Deborah D. Blecic, and Kristin E. Martin. “Comparison of Citation Use, Link Resolver, and Vendor Statistics.  Poster presentation at the Medical Library Association Annual Meeting, May 17, 2011.

Klassen, TimothyW., Deborah D. Blecic, Sandra De Groote, Peter Hepburn, Rebecca Lowery,  Kristin E. Martin, Rebecca Raszewski , Robert J. Sandusky, Mary Shultz. “E-research and Data Management at a Large Research University: Using Survey Results to Develop a Library Plan”. Poster presentation at the American Library Association Annual Meeting, June 26, 2010.

Blecic, Deborah D.  “E-Books and Health Sciences Libraries”, one of two speakers for the program “E-books and the Health Sciences Library: 4th Annual Lecture on the Evidence-Based Practice of Librarianship”, Medical Library Association Annual Meeting, May 25, 2010. 

Blecic, Deborah D, Sara Blaszczak, Joan Fiscella, Rebecca Lowery, and Stephen E. Wiberley, Jr.  “Deal or No Deal: A Method to Appraise Big Deals”, poster presentation at the American Library Association Annual Meeting, July 13, 2009.  

Blecic, Deborah D. Moderator for panel presentation “Doody’s Core Titles: Experiences after Brandon-Hill”, Collection Development Section Business Meeting, Medical Library Association Annual Meeting, May 15, 2005.

Hurd, Julie, Deborah D. Blecic and Ann Robinson.  “Performance Measures for Electronic Journals: A User-Centered Approach”, poster presentation, American Library Association (ALA) Annual Meeting, paper presentation at the Science and Technology Section Research Forum of ALA, July 8/9 2000.  

Blecic, Deborah D. and Karen Curtis.  "Restructuring a Liaison Program to Serve a Diverse Population", poster presentation at the Medical Library Association Annual Meeting, Washington, D.C., with Karen Curtis, May 7,1995.