Skip to Main Content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

UIC Library Faculty Profile: Deborah Blecic, Professor Emerita: Awards & Grants

Awards

Best JMLA Research Paper Award. 2014.  Awarded annually by the Medical Library Association Research Section for best  research article in JMLA.  Awarded for the article:  DeGroote, Sandra L., Deborah D. Blecic, and Kristin E. Martin. "Measures of Health Sciences Journal Use: a Comparison of Vendor, Link-resolver, and Local Citation Statistics", Journal of the  Medical Library Association. 2013 Apr;101(2):110-9.

Daniel T. Richards Prize.  2014.  Presented annually by the Medical Library Association’s Collection Development Section for writing in health sciences collection development.  The prize was awarded for the article: DeGroote, Sandra L., Deborah D. Blecic, and Kristin E. Martin.  “Measures of Health Sciences Journal Use: A Comparison of Vendor, Link-resolver, and Local Citation Statistics”, Journal of the Medical Library Association, 101(2): 110-119, April 2013.

UIC Library Researcher of the Year, 2013.

Louise Darling Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Collection Development in the Health Sciences.  Presented annually by the Medical Library Association, 2005.       

Daniel T. Richards Prize. 2001.  Presented annually by the Medical Library Association’s Collection Development Section for writing in health sciences collection development.  The prize was awarded for my publication “Monograph Use in an Academic Health Sciences Library: the First Three Years of Shelf Life”, Bulletin of the Medical Library Association, 88(2): 145-151, April 2000.

Cerifications

Re-Certification as a Distinguished Member of the Academy of Health Information Professionals of the Medical Library Association, 2008 and 2013.  

Certification as a Distinguished Member of the Academy of Health Information Professionals of the Medical Library Association, 2003.   

Funded Grants

Annually, 2002-2013, 2017    "Dr. William Allen Pusey Fund", Chicago Community Trust, Principal Investigator, funded at $283,391 over twelve years to purchase library materials in the field of dermatology.

2007    "Homeland Security: Scientific, Technical, and Managerial Aspects of Disasters Collections Partnership", Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois, funded at $5,000 to purchase library materials in disaster medicine.

2003    “Biotechnology Collections Partnership, 2nd Year”, Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, funded at $3,500 to purchase materials in pharmaceutical biotechnology.

2003    “Psychology Collections Partnership”, Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, funded at $3,815 to purchase materials in health psychology. 

2002    “Women’s Studies Collections Partnership, Year 2”, Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, funded at $6,000 to purchase library materials in women’s health.  

2000    “Environmental Studies Collections Partnership, Year 2", Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, Principal Investigator, funded at $39,400 to purchase library materials in the area of environmental studies in the state of Illinois, $3,200 of which was purchased at UIC in the areas of environmental chemistry and human health and the environment.

2000    “Women’s Studies Collections Partnership”, Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, participant, funded at $8,516 to purchase materials in women’s health and health policy.

2000    “Biotechnology Collections Partnership”, Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, participant, funded at $4,768 to purchase materials in pharmaceutical biotechnology.

1999    “Environmental Studies Collections Partnership”, Illinois Cooperative Collection Management

Program, Principal Investigator, funded at $75,000 to purchase library materials in the area of Environmental Studies in the state of Illinois, $8,305 of which was purchased at UIC in the areas of environmental chemistry and human health and the environment.

1998    “Gerontology Collections Partnership, Year 2", Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, Principal Investigator, funded at $20,000 to purchase library materials in the area of gerontology in the state of Illinois, $2,720 of which was purchased at UIC in the area of geriatric medicine.

1997    "Gerontology Collections Partnership", Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, Principal Investigator, funded at $25,000 to purchase library materials in the area of gerontology in the state of Illinois, $5,000 of which was purchased at UIC in the area of geriatric medicine.

1997    "Materials Technology Model Discipline, Year 2", Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, participant, funded at $1,250 to purchase library materials in the area of biomaterials.

1996    "Materials Technology Model Discipline", Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, participant, funded at $2,500 to purchase library materials on biomaterials.

1996    "Biosciences Model Discipline Project", Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, participant, funded at $3,000 to purchase library materials in the area of evolutionary biology.

1996  "Consumer Health", Illinois Cooperative Collection Management Program, Principal Investigator, funded at $25,000 to purchase consumer health materials in the state of  Illinois, $10,000 of which was purchased for UIC.