Recommended Texts
The Library of the Health Sciences holds over 900 volumes that discuss ethics. Some search terms include ethics, bioethics, biomedical ethics, health care ethics, code of ethics, ethical theory, and ethicists.
Beauchamp TL, Childress JF. Principles of Biomedical Ethics. 7th ed. New York: Oxford University Press; 2013.
Jonsen AR, Siegler M, Winslade WJ. Clinical Ethics. A Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine. 7th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill; 2010.
Lo B. Resolving Ethical Dilemmas. A Guide for Clinicians. 5th ed. Baltimore: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2013.
Frankel LR, Goldworth A. Rorty MV, Silverman WA, eds. Ethical Dilemmas in Pediatrics. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press; 2005.
Post S, ed: Encyclopedia of Bioethics. 3rd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference; 2003.
Walters L, Kahn TJ, eds. Bibliography of Bioethics. Washington, DC: Georgetown University. Published annually.
Web Sites
- Directory of Indian Medical SitesCreated and maintained by QMed Knowledge Foundation, a Not-for-Profit Trust, registered with the Charity Commissioner, Mumbai. Please note that it includes full text of the Indian Journal of Medical Ethics.
Google Scholar
Some search terms include ethics, bioethics, biomedical ethics, health care ethics, code of ethics, ethical theory, and ethicists.
Finding Books
- Library CatalogSearch for E-Journals or print journals in the Library Catalog
- I-Share CatalogSearch 70+ Illinois Colleges and order books unavailable at UIC.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch platform)Union catalog with holdings information from libraries across the world.
PubMed@UIC
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
