Point of Care Resources Online - Recommended E-Resources
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - AccessPediatrics
AccessPediatrics provides access to text books, atlases, videos, and other resources related to pediatrics, information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review. Includes captions. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified - DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
- Essential Evidence PlusCurrent answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. You must register for an account using your uic.edu email in order to access Essential Evidence Plus.
- JBI ConnectClinical evidence-based system for nursing and medicine. Provided by the Joanna Briggs Institute.
- NatMed Pro
Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center
Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of: Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
- STFM Resource Library"This resource was created by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) and was designed to support the sharing and collaborative development of educational resources among family medicine educators. The initial grant for this endeavor came from the National Library of Medicine and the project has been expanded a number of times. The STFM Resource Library contains lectures, learning modules, case studies, recommended websites, and conference handouts. The materials are all made available at no cost, and visitors can get started by looking at the Recently Uploaded area. Here they will find "Teaching Today With Tomorrow's Tools," "Teaching Inpatient Billing and Coding," and dozens of other newer items. Moving on, visitors can also use the Search area to focus on certain items of interest or browse the FAQ area to find answers to common questions. Finally, visitors can create their own personalized accounts or upload their own materials for possible inclusion in the archive.
