Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

NIH Public Access Policy: My NCBI & My Bibliography

NIH

Quick Links

My Bibliography Instructions

Have Questions?

Sandy DeGroote's picture
Sandy DeGroote
Contact:
Professor & Scholarly Communications Librarian
312-413-9494

What is My NCBI?

My Bibliography (part of MyNCBI)  is a tool that allows you to save your citations from PubMed, or citations entered manually, to a single list that if you wish, can be shared via download or a publicly accessible link.  When creating a NIH Biosketch using the SciENcv tool, you can easily add the public link to this bibliography. The My Bibliography tool also allows you to monitor your NIH Public Access policy compliance.

My NCBI is a tool that retains user information and database preferences to provide customized services for many NCBI databases. It allows you to save searches, select display formats, filtering options, and set up automatic searches that are sent by e-mail.  My NCBI includes additional features that allow for setting up preferences for displaying and filtering search results, highlighting search terms and setting LinkOut, Outside Tool and Document Delivery preferences.

My Bibliography: Creating a Bibliography in MyNCBI

My Bibliography allows you to save references to your own publications in a bibliography. There are two ways to create a bibliography. The first is to add citations directly from PubMed and the second is to add citations manually.

Adding Citations from PubMed

  1. Log on to My NCBI.
  2. On the My NCBI page, scroll to the Search NCBI Databases section.
  3. On the Search drop-down list, select PubMed, if its not already selected. 
  4. Perform your search in the text box provided in order to bring up the desired article(s).
    • You can search by author, title, or keyword.
  5. Click the check box next to the citation(s) you want to add to your bibliography.
  6. Click Send To.
  7. In the Choose Destination box, click My Bibliography, and then click Add to My Bibliography.
  8. On the Save to Bibliography page, click Save.
    • The default setting will save the citation to My Bibliography. If you wish to save the citation to a separate bibliography, click Other Citations, and then click Save.

Adding Citations Not Found in PubMed

  1. Log on to My NCBI. 
  2. Scroll down to the My Bibliography section and then click Manage my Bibliography.
  3. In the Display Settings box, click Add Citation.
  4. On the Choose the type of citation drop-down list, select the type of citation to enter manually. Options include:
    • Manual citation for article that do not appear in PubMed.
    • Books and chapters
    • Meeting abstracts
    • Patents
  5. Type the publication information in the fields provided. Required fields are indicated with a red asterisk.
  6. Click Add Citation.

Link your bibliography to your eRA Commons account in order to see if your publications are in compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy.

Connecting My NCBI with your eRA Commons account

Connecting your My Bibliography to your eRA Commons account will allow you to see whether your publications comply with the NIH Public Access Policy. It will also populate the Research Support section of your Biosketch.

To connect your MyNCBI and eRA Commons accounts:

  1. Log on to My NCBI. If you do not have a MyNCBI account you need to create one.
  2. Click on your login name, located in the upper right hand corner of the screen.
  3. On the NCBI Account Settings page, scroll down to the Linked Accounts section, and then click Change.
  4. In the Login Account Options box, scroll down to and click NIH & eRA Commons.
  5. Log on to your eRA Commons account.

Please note - Even if you log on to MyNCBI with your eRA Commons username and password, you may still have to link your eRA Commons account to your MyNCBI account.

Making My Bibliography Public

In NCBI, click on Manage My Bibliography.   Where it says at the top - "This Bibliography is private" - click on "make it public" to make it public.

Adding Delegates to My Bibliography

In My NCBI, you can assign others as delegates, giving them permission to edit your My Bibliography and SciENcv profiles.

To add a delegate, go to your NCBI Account Settings page by clicking on your username in the top right corner of the page. There is a section for managing your delegates. Click Add a Delegate and enter the email address of the person you would like to give access to. Once they have accepted the delegate role for your account, you can assign them access to your My Bibliography and/or your SciENcv profiles.