It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or
LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
LGBT Life with Full Text contains an index and full text covering the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of books.
Collection combining primary documents with historical and scholarly analysis and teaching tools, all documenting women’s activism in public life.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a collection of primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting women’s activism in public life.
The database is organized around document projects, each posing a new interpretative question and then providing 20 to 50 primary documents that address the question, together with an interpretive introduction and headnotes, bibliography, and related links. Examples of topics are:
How Did the Ladies Association of Philadelphia Shape New Forms of Women’s Activism During the American Revolution, 1780-1781?
How Did Black and White Southern Women Campaign to End Lynching, 1890-1942?
How and Why Did the Guerrilla Girls Alter the Art Establishment in New York City, 1985-1995?
Inspired by Sylvia Plath's tenacity and curiosity, this growing resource of hand-selected entries identifies recent books for researchers, scholarly editions, selected memoirs, and notable works for a general audience. Records include citations that can be copied and inclusive subject categories linked to related material.
Open Access, Robust Searching, Easy Browsing, Featured Titles, Publishers’ Links
Named for prominent Dorothys, this database collects production details for films and television programs mainly produced since 2010. Projects directed or created by women and key topics in gender and women's studies are central to this expanding resource curated for diversity. Updated regularly, Dorothy incorporates comprehensive options for researching documentaries, dramas and comedies, television shows, and educational films.
Open Access, Global Coverage, Subject Browsing, Advanced Searching, Featured Titles
Other Article Databases
Since Gender and Women's Studies is an interdisciplinary field, you may want to use databases in history, sociology, psychology, or other fields to find articles. Here are some databases that cover a wide variety of diciplines.
Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including more than 3,630 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, Academic Search Premier abstracts and indexes all 8,000+ journals included in the collection. This database offers articles and scholarly monographs in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
America: History and Life is a resource for a variety of disciplines, including:
* American Studies
* Interdisciplinary Studies
* Multicultural Studies
* Popular Culture
* Women's Studies/Gender Studies
* History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law
Historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Published since 1954, this database has long been recognized as among the leading bibliographies for historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
International literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. From 1975 to present.
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of February 2004 approximately 1,432 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list will continue to grow.
Enhancements to the new database include the capability to link to electronic fulltext and the addition of new fields to the record structure. Furthermore, many records from key journals in political science, published since 2000, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. All records added since 2000 are indexed using a thesaurus of over 3,000 terms.
Provides current and archived news content from more than 12,000 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ]
This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor and The Times (London) as well as selected full text from more than 180 regional newspapers including: Boston Globe, Detroit Free Press, Houston Chronicle, Miami Herald, San Jose Mercury News, etc. Full text transcripts are also included from Face the Nation, CBS Evening News with Dan Rather, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, National Public Radio, etc.
Provides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Courier, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and Washington Post.