Subject and Course Guides: Clinical and Translational Science Research Guide (CCTS): Author Tools

Tools

CTSpedia
CTSpedia was created as a national effort to collect wisdom, tools, educational materials, and other items useful for clinical and translational researchers and to provide timely and useful advice to clinical and translational researchers with specific problems

LinkedIn Learning
Formerly Lynda.com. Offers over a thousand video tutorials on leading software topics including Adobe products, Apple products, Microsoft products, Drupal, video editing, audio editing, operating systems and much more.

Reporting Standards

Assert Statement
In order to ensure the ethical conduct of research involving human subjects, the ASSERT checklist comprises items that need to be addressed by investigators applying for approval to conduct a clinical trial.
Consort Statement
The CONSORT Statement comprises a 25-item checklist and a flow diagram, along with some brief descriptive text. The checklist items focus on reporting how the trial was designed, analyzed, and interpreted; the flow diagram displays the progress of all participants through the trial.
Critical Appraisal Worksheets
Downloadable files that provide worksheets for primary and integrative studies of various types.
Discern Instrument
A questionnaire to evaluate the quality of consumer health information.
Equator Network
The EQUATOR Network is an international initiative that seeks to improve reliability and value of medical research literature by promoting transparent and accurate reporting of research studies.
Moose Consensus Statement
Meta-analysis of Observational Studies in Epidemiology
A Proposal for Reporting by Stroup et al. Proposes aReporting Checklist for Authors, Editors, and Reviewers of Meta-analyses of Observational Studies.
PRISMA (formerly QUOROM)
PRISMA stands for Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses. The PRISMA Statement consists of a 27-item checklist and a four-phase flow diagram.
Squire Guidelines
(Standards for QUality Improvement Reporting Excellence)The SQUIRE guidelines consist of a checklist of 19 items that authors should consider when writing articles that describe studies of quality improvement.
Strobe List
Checklistsfor cohort, case-control, and cross-sectional studies.
TREND Statement
The mission of the Transparent Reporting of Evaluations with Nonrandomized Designs (TREND) group is to improve the reporting standards of nonrandomized evaluations of behavioral and public health interventions.

Create Your Own Maps or Reports

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an data and mapping tool for accessing data about communities across the U.S. to make better-informed decisions without any prior experience.
SimplyAnalytics
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data, the PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, and the Community Lifestages dataset. The CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created.

To save your searches, you need to sign up for an account using your UIC email address.

Access restricted to 5 concurrent users.

Instructions to Authors

Note that the Instructions to Authors database includes links to standards in methodological quality.

BioMed Central
Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences
A database that includes 3,500 journals in the health and life sciences. Maintained by Gerald Natal, Digital Services Librarian of University of Toledo Mulford Library, whose permission to cite we gratefully acknowledge.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Clinical and Translational Science Research Guide (CCTS)

Determining Where to Publish

Tools

Reporting Standards

Create Your Own Maps or Reports

Instructions to Authors

BrowZine

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library