Lesson Plans
- Coming to America: The Immigrant Experience in the United StatesCreated for high school students by the Jane Addams Hull-House Museum.
- Settlement HousesCreated for middle school teachers by the Jane Addams Hull-House Museum.
- In the Vicinity of Maxwell and Halsted Streets: Chicago 1890-1930A Human Documentary by Burton J. Bledstein, Project Director
Books -- Elementary School Level
The following are several recent works about Jane Addams, Hull-House, and settlement houses available at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Note that some books are non-circulating and can only be accessed in the Special Collections Department.
Children of the settlement houses by Call Number: HV4194 .A77 1998 -- Special CollectionsISBN: 1575052423
A personal tour of Hull-House by Call Number: HV4196.C4 E33 2001 -- Special Collections (non-circ.)ISBN: 0822535823
Jane Addams : a life of cooperation by Call Number: HV40.32.A33 K57 2007 -- Special CollectionsISBN: 0822563827
Peace and bread : the story of Jane Addams by Call Number: HV40.32.A33 M36 1993 -- Special CollectionsISBN: 0876147929
Jane Addams : social reformer and Nobel Prize winner by Call Number: HV40.32.A33 R67 2004 -- Special CollectionsISBN: 1592960103
Books -- Secondary School Level
The following are several recent works about Jane Addams, Hull-House, and settlement houses available at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Note that some books are non-circulating and can only be accessed in the Special Collections Department.
Jane Addams : freedom's innovator by Call Number: HV40.32.A33 P37 1999 -- Special CollectionsISBN: 0783554451Twenty years at Hull-house, with autobiographical notes by
New York, The Macmillan company, 1911.
Subject Guide
Pamela Hackbart-Dean
Contact:
University Library
801 S. Morgan St. 3-330 (MC 234)
Chicago, IL 60607
801 S. Morgan St. 3-330 (MC 234)
Chicago, IL 60607
312.996.0243
Ask an Archivist
Not all of our resources are available online. Special Collections encourages researchers to visit the Special Collections Reading Room and consult with an archivist.
Special Collections Reading Room Locations and Hours