Newspapers: Electronic Newspaper Collections

Provides current and archived news content from more than 13,800 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ]

Current major newspapers and selected regional newspapers plus newscast transcripts. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.

Alternative Press Index covers alternative radical and left publications. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Current articles from ethnic-focused news groups worldwide.

Growing collection of Latin American and Caribbean historical newspapers in a partnership between Center for Research Libraries and Newsbank to preserve and provide persistent access to historical newspapers from around the globe.

Provides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Courier, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and Washington Post.

Accessible Archives offers access to primary source material from prior to 1900 that has been fully digitized and is full-text searchable. To view the collections UIC subscribes to, see more .

Colonial and national period newspapers published between 1690s-1920s.

From the first newspapers established by Peter the Great to the fall of the Romanovs, the Imperial Russian Newspapers collection chronicles 189 years of Russian history. From Peter the Great’s founding of the Russian empire, through the empire’s expansion during Catherine the Great, the abolishment of serfdom by Alexander II, the tumultuous years of Nicholas II, and everything in between.

The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.

Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico's pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper's short-lived publication. Most of the titles in the Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection are from the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, a research library at the University of Texas at Austin for area studies on Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and the Latino presence in the United States.

From the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, the countries of the Middle East and North Africa have witnessed their fair share of history. The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.
NOTE: registration is required to download PDFs.

Full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers in 19th century Great Britain. May not be compatible with Mozilla Firefox.