Recommended Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- MEDLINE through Ovid (1947 to Present)National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
- Professional Development Collection (for educators)
Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text education journals, 1965 to present.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- Science Citation Index [SCI] - ISI Web of Knowledge
Access to articles found in scholarly journals in science and technology (1970 to present)
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current)
Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
ILLIAD - Interlibrary Loan Account For Full-Text Articles & The "FIND IT @ UIC" Button
1. ILLIAD - for interlibrary loans. This service provides electronic copies of articles, which are not available in the LHS full-text holdings. ILLIAD delivery is rapid and you may have an article in 1-2 days!
Sign-up at: https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IAX/logon.html
You will need your Library number, which starts with 28198 or 20111 - it appears on your iCard..
FOR VISITING STUDENTS TAKING A SUMMER COURSE WHO DO NOT HAVE AN I-CARD BUT HAVE A NETID -- Since Distance Ed enrollees are rarely issued I-Cards, the Library ID number is not applicable. Enter N/A in this field and choose "Distance Ed" from the Status pull-down menu.
2. The "Find It @ UIC" Button - How It Works
The "Find it @ UIC" button only appears if you have entered the database (e.g., PubMed) via the LHS library gateway. This button links you to the electronic full-text of an article if it is available. When you begin your database search via the LHS webpages, look for this icon in your search results! If you are in PubMed and do not see this button, you probably did not enter PubMed through the LHS website.
If the article is not available electronically through the library's subscriptions, you will be presented with this message - "Article is not available in electronic format."
To request a scan of a full-text article via ILLiad (Inter Lilbrary loan), click "Request via inter library loan." The form will auto-fill with the article citation. Inter library loan often takes as little as 1-2 days. You'll get an email linking you back to your ILLiad account, and you'll find the PDF under "Electronically Received Articles."
3. Watch a brief video, in which Rebecca Raszewski demonstrates the use of the "Find it @ UIC" button and ILLia in the context of a CINAHL database search https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4CifJgDPsY