Best Databases for Criminology, Law and Justice
- Criminal Justice AbstractsCoverage of criminal justice and substance abuse. From 1968 to present.
- Google ScholarSearch Google for academic research and writing. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text (off-campus users will be directed to login with netID and password)
- Nexis UniNew version of Lexis Nexis Academic featuring news and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, full-text law review articles, and thousands of full-text news sources.
- HeinOnline203 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more
Additional Social Sciences Databases
- AnthroSource
AnthroSource is an online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Current articles from ethnic-focused news groups worldwide.
- GenderWatchFocuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Internet Archive ScholarThis fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
- JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- ProQuest Databases
This is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more. Note: we do not subscribe to all the titles on the list.
- Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS Index)
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current)
Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Web of ScienceSee where you've been cited with Cited Reference Searching
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1909 - current)
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
Guide Author
Inter Library Loan
Found a citation for something UIC doesn't subscribe to or own? No problem! Create an ILLiad account and request it through Inter Library Loan
(you will need you I-Card for the Library Number -- not your UIN -- to create the account)