A continually growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, atlases and directories. There are bilinguals, general and specialized reference books, and all can be searched from one interface. See the title list on the website.
Coverage of criminal justice and substance abuse. From 1968 to present.
Subject coverage from 1968 to present includes:
* Adult Corrections
* Behavioral Science
* Courts and the Legal Process
* Crime, the Offender & the Victim
* Crime Prevention & Control Strategies
* Economic & Political Sciences
* Juvenile Justice & Delinquency
* Social Work
* Substance Abuse
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
NCJRS offers a range of services and resources, balancing the information needs of the field with the technological means to receive and access support. The following highlights a number of NCJRS services and resources.
LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to documents from national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
Provides downloadable doctoral dissertations originating from universities in the Big Ten conference from 1997 to present. More dissertations from other North American and European universities are available for preview and individual purchase. This is the new platform for Dissertations & Theses. All CSA and ProQuest databases will be migrated to this platform.
Dissertations and Theses contains full text of doctoral dissertations from universities in the Big Ten conference (Committee on Interinstitutional Cooperation or CIC) from 1997 to present. Further, D&T provides free 24-page previews for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. The non-CIC materials are available for individual purchase.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
This database is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
Affiliated with the University of Michigan, most of the data requires a registration with NACJD, but some data is available to anyone. Two interesting subsets are the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods and the Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center.