Data Standards Guide

Data Standards represent guidelines for data collection, measurement, formatting, or exchange of data.

According to the National Library of Medicine (NIH),  a data standard may be "an agreed upon approach to allow for consistent measurement, qualification or exchange of an object, process, or unit of information". 

The importance of data standards is that they provide consistency for data formatting and analysis, aid in data aggregation, and encourages sharing and reuse of data. 

Data Standards and Data Management Plan

Data Standards are often included when writing your data management plan (DMP). For example, the NIH Data Management and Sharing Plan requires a list of data standards that apply to your research under Element 3, Standards. 

Specific data standards to be included may depend on the grant agency and grant itself which can be found within the requirements of the grant. 

Data Standards may be generated by a governmental organization, research communities, or other groups. Databases may also make it easier to find specific standards that align with your research.

Below is a list of common data standard organizations and searchable databases to make the search for standards easier. 

FairSharing is a searchable portal that provides descriptions of data standards, policies, and databases across disciplines. 

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is a large organization that creates standards across disciplines. Their website also contains a searchable portal for all ISO standards. 

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) : Governmental agency that provides standard reference data, information quality standards, security standards, standard reference materials among others.

The National Information Standards Organization (NISO) : An organization that identifies, develops, maintains, and publishes technical standards to manage information. Their primary focus involves developing standards that guide information creation and curation, information discovery and interchange, and information poilcy and analysis

Digital Curation Center (DCC) : Provides a directory of metadata standards for multiple disciplines throughout biological and social sciences. Based in the UK and could provide international standards as well

See the "Common Data Standards by Discipline" tab for a list of common data standards and more information.

Some federal agencies may require specific data standards for their funding. One prominent example is listed below, but more information is available in the "Data Standards and the Federal Grant Agencies" tab. 

NIH Common Data Element (CDE) Repository : Provides a searchable database of registered CDEs that are used across NIH Institutions, Centers, and NIH affilated organizations. CDEs are specific, defined questions with a set of allowable responses, and allow for consistency in data collection and curation.

Repositories and journals may require specific data standards for deposition. This can be found on the repository website or searching for the repository in a searchable portal like FairSharing.