Doing Dramaturgy: Online Resources
Use the resources below as a starting point to learn more about a play's setting and time period. You might also like to check out the resources linked on the Background Research for Performers and Designers for additional databases that can be used when researching a play's context.
- Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries with emphasis on Literature and Western Civilization . Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Books on Dramaturgy
Diversity, Inclusion, and Representation in Contemporary Dramaturgy by ISBN: 1138334456Publication Date: 2020-04-08
What is Dramatury?
Dramaturgy is defined in the Merriam-Webster dictionary as "the art or technique of dramatic composition or theatrical representation." But what exactly does a dramaturge do? While it is hard to come up with a short and universally agreed upon statement, generally dramaturges support the development of a production by providing research to inform the play's context in order to enrich the world of the play.
To learn more about the work of a dramaturge, check out this article, "What is Dramaturgy?" from Dramatics, as well as Educational Theatre Association's "Dramaturgy 101."