Skip to Main Content

HIST 435 / CLJ 491: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

EuroDocs
Major political documents and primary sources related to wars, revolutions, and social conflicts in Russia throughout modern history. Some sources untranslated

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Access to historical issues of major newspapers from the United States (including important Black-owned newspapers), Israel, China, Korea, Ireland, India, Canada, and the United Kingdom. After 2022, the library will subscribe to some of the best-used titles
The Times (London) Digital Archive
Complete digital archives of The Times (1785-1985). May not be compatible with Mozilla Firefox.
UIC users can search through the complete digital archives of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
ABI/INFORM Global
Includes the last 35+ years of the Wall Street Journal, the Atlantic & Foreign Affairs
Economist Historical Archive (1843 to 3 years ago)
The Economist has presented global news since 1843. The Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue from 1843 to 3 years ago as a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. May not be compatible with Firefox.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2008. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.