Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
Routledge Handbook of International Criminology
Overview of criminology and criminal justice in Russia from 2011.
United Nations Crime Data
UNODC regularly updates statistical series on crime, criminal justice, drug trafficking and prices, drug production, and drug use sourced from national statistical systems. Latest Survey on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems (CTS) that is available is 2007-2008.
UN Office of the High Commission on Human Rights
Leading UN entity on human rights. The General Assembly entrusted both the High Commissioner and her Office with a unique mandate to promote and protect all human rights for all people. The United Nations human rights programme aims to ensure that the protection and enjoyment of human rights is a reality in the lives of all people. UN Human Rights also plays a crucial role in safeguarding the integrity of the three interconnected pillars of the United Nations – peace and security, human rights and development.
Global Human Rights organization involved in campaigns against war, torture, suppression of dissent, authoritarianism, and terrorism for more than 50 years
Books, Dissertations & Media
To find books on your topic, use the "Advanced Search" option from the library's main page (above the search bar), select "Search for Books & Media" on the side of the pop-up window that appears, then click the checkbox next to "Books"
It might also be useful to search for dissertations about your topic, which will offer the same mixture of introductory summary and specific research findings that you get with books. Those can be found in
Lastly, there may be important documentaries or films about your topic, especially if it's related to the 20th or 21st century. You can find those in any of our 4 film platforms below
Alexander Street Press Videos
Search audio and videos from UIC's Alexander Street Press collection. Includes captions and transcripts.
PBS Video Collection
The PBS Video Collection includes selected documentary films and programs produced by the Public Broadcasting Service. The content spans a wide range of subjects including history, science, biographies, current events, etc. Includes films by Ken Burns, Michael Wood, and series such as NOVA, Nature, America Experience, and more. Includes captions and transcripts.
Docuseek 2 is a platform for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films. It provides access to over 750 documentaries covering a wide variety of subjects including social issues, sustainability, the environment, and many more. Includes captions.
Kanopy is a platform that provides access to streaming media, documentaries, films or videos. Includes captions and transcripts. As of April 2019, not all content is automatically available to UIC users to control costs. If you are a faculty member who needs a film activated for a class, please use the request form in Kanopy or send a note to email@example.com . Please include the class name and number, and the date the film is needed.
Reference & Liaison Librarian