Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research.
EMBASE is an abstract and indexing database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. It currently contains more than 15 million records from Excerpta Medica Database (1974 to present) and selected Medline records (1966-present). Currently the Library does not own the archives of Embase from 1947 to 1973.
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Search Suggestions for Databases
Use advanced search - This will allow you to customize how you search the record. For example, you can target searching the titles and abstracts in PubMed using the pull-down field tag Title/Abstract.
Explore controlled vocabulary - databases has subject terminology that can help your search for concepts that might not be used as keywords. For example, PubMed's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) has many medical education terms to use. You can use a MeSH term like "Education, Distance" for gathering evidence on online education concepts. Other controlled vocubularies include: CINAHL Subject Headings, Embase Emtree, ERIC Thesaurus, PsycINFO Thesaurus.