This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
Note: Off campus users, if you're unable to get pass the CAPTCHA page, use the VPN or sign in to your Google account by going to My Profile on the upper left hand corner of the page.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.
Scopus contains over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide with 49 million records, 78% with abstracts. It Includes over 5.3 million conference papers and provides 100% Medline coverage with interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys,
Access to the Web of Science Core Collection which is the largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Note: author search temporarily not working properly. For better results, use the VPN.
The Web of Science, provided by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) a division of Thomson Reuters, is an index of current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from 1975 on. The bibliographic records from approximately 8,700 high impact research journals are mostly linked to full-text articles.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 12 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.
Also known as IEEE Electronic Library, this database provides full-text access to a wide range of technology and engineering materials: transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; and all current IEEE Standards.
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students
that provides access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information.
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources.
AccessMedicine, an online resource, provides searchable full text of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's the Heart, The Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, selected Lange texts, Current Medical Diagnoses and Treatment, Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2002, Clinical Pharmacology and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. The texts are frequently updated. The AccessMedicine suite also has an "In the News" section and a "Resource Center" for selected topics.
Growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, bilinguals, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, and directories.
A continually growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, atlases and directories. There are bilinguals, general and specialized reference books, and all can be searched from one interface. See the title list on the website.