This is the "Pediatrics" page of the "Pediatrics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pediatrics  

Last Updated: Apr 1, 2015 URL: http://researchguides.uic.edu/Pediatrics Print Guide RSS Updates

Pediatrics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Updated Classics - e-Books



Cover Art
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics - Karen Marcdante; Robert M. Kliegman
ISBN: 9781455759804
Publication Date: 2014-03-20

Cover Art
Non-Operating Room Anesthesia - Mark S. Weiss; Lee A. Fleisher
ISBN: 9781455754151
Publication Date: 2014-08-06


Cover Art
Simon's Emergency Orthopedics - Scott Sherman
ISBN: 0071819673
Publication Date: 2014-09-29








Cover Art
Pediatric Endocrinology - Mark A. Sperling
ISBN: 9781455748587
Publication Date: 2014-03-04


Cover Art
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis - Mark H. Swartz
ISBN: 9780323221481
Publication Date: 2014-01-27

Cover Art
Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners - Myung K. Park
ISBN: 9780323169516
Publication Date: 2014-03-14


Cover Art
Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children - Charles J. Cote
ISBN: 1455727903
Publication Date: 2012-01-01

Cover Art
Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology - J. Eric Piña-Garza
ISBN: 1455748129
Publication Date: 2012-01-01

 

Recent e-Books



Cover Art
Pediatric Infectious Disease - Christine M. Houser
ISBN: 9781493913282
Publication Date: 2014-09-03



Cover Art
Pediatric Tricky Topics, Volume 1 - Christine M. Houser
ISBN: 9781493918584
Publication Date: 2014-10-31


Cover Art
Pediatric Urology - Mario Lima (Editor); Gianantonio Manzoni (Editor)
ISBN: 9788847056923
Publication Date: 2014-11-17

Cover Art
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets - Steven M. Selbst
ISBN: 9780323262842
Publication Date: 2014-12-15








Cover Art
Pediatric Orthopedics - Amr Abdelgawad (Editor); Osama Naga (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461471257
Publication Date: 2013-09-24


Cover Art
Atlas of PET/CT in Pediatric Patients - Angelina Cistaro (Editor)
ISBN: 9788847053571
Publication Date: 2013-11-26




Cover Art
Functional Symptoms in Pediatric Disease - Ran D. Anbar
ISBN: 9781489980748
Publication Date: 2014-03-12





Cover Art
Curbside Consultation in Pediatric Ophthalmology - Rudolph Wagner
ISBN: 1617110590
Publication Date: 2014-03-15

Cover Art
Clinical Guide to Gluten-Related Disorders - Alessio Fasano (Editor)
ISBN: 9781451182637
Publication Date: 2013-09-18

Cover Art
Pediatric Surgery - Brendon J. Coventry (Editor)
ISBN: 9781447154389
Publication Date: 2014-01-29

Cover Art
Cryoablation for Cardiac Arrhythmias - Ngai-Yin Chan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118451830
Publication Date: 2013-11-11












Cover Art
An Illustrated Guide to Pediatric Surgery - Ahmed H. Al-Salem
ISBN: 9783319066646
Publication Date: 2014-10-22









 

Library Tutorial - Brief Overview

Link:  Library Tutorial on YouTube

Runtime: 10:58

General Contents of the Tutorial - Ask a Librarian; Catalog; Books & E-Books; Journals & E-Journals; Finding Articles in Full-text & Interlibrary Loan; Databases A-Z list; Research and Subject Guides; PubMed & MeSH; Clinical Tools & Point of Care Resources (e.g., DynaMed, UpToDate).  

 

For the full screen view of the Library Tutorial on YouTube

Recommended Databases

  • Access Physiotherapy
  • Cases Database
    "Cases Database is a continuously-updated, freely-accessible database allowing users to interactively explore data from thousands of peer-reviewed medical case reports. The database offers structured search and filtering by condition, symptom, intervention, pathogen, patient demographic and many other data fields, allowing fast identification of relevant case reports to support clinical practice and research."
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  
      
    CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
  • CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research
  • Cochrane Library  
      
    Independent medical evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
  • EBSCO
    Platform for our most widely used academic databases. This aggregator includes Ageline, ERIC, CINAHLPlus, and many other databases potentially useful to the field of Applied Health Sciences.
  • EMBASE
    If you are off campus, be sure to check the registration key from the list of databases from A-Z.
  • ERIC via OVID
    ERIC is published by U.S. Department of Education. It is the largest education database in the world. Depending on your interface preferences, you can access ERIC on many platforms.
  • Europe PubMed Central
    • Includes PubMed abstracts (about 22 million)
    • Europe PMC full text articles (about 2.2 million, of which over 400,000 are Open Access)
    • Patent abstracts (over 4 million European, US, and International)
    • National Health Service (NHS) clinical guidelines
    • Agricola records (500,000)
    • Supplemented with Chinese Biological Abstracts and the Citeseer database.
  • GIDEON - Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments HAPI
  • JSTOR
    Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
  • Medical Heritage Library
    The Medical Heritage Library is a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries.
  • Ovid  
      
    Platform for ebooks, journals and databases in clinical medicine, nursing, allied health sciences, and psychology. Limited to 110 simultaneous users.
  • Ovid E-books on Health Sciences
    Core textbooks on health sciences: medicine, nursing, anesthesiology, etc.
  • PEDro
    PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 17,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
  • Professional development (for Educators)
    Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for nearly 850 journals.
  • PsycINFO
  • Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source
    Content covered includes orthopedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise, and physical therapy. Cited references are searchable from over 90 journals. The database also contains access to the full text for
    20 book titles in this area, as well as select trade publications and magazines. Most journals are available in full text.
  • Rehabilitation Reference Center
    Content in RRC includes nearly 550 /Clinical Reviews/,
    more than 150 research instruments, information from AHFS on over 11,700 drugs and their manufacturers, more than 9,800 exercise images, key reference handbooks, guidelines from the National Guideline Clearinghouse, more than 1,500 relevant patient education topics in both English & Spanish, and news and clinical updates.
  • SafetyLit
    Find the latest information about injury prevention and safety promotion topics.
  • SCOPUS
    Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools that track, analyze and visualize research.
  • Springer Protocols
    SpringerProtocols offers researchers access easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab organized in recipe style. All SpringerProtocols are written by experts in the field identified and reviewed by editors in their specific subject areas.
  • Web of Knowledge

Recommended E-Book Collections

Librarian

Maureen Clark, MHS, MLIS
Contact Info
Library of the Health Sciences - Chicago
1750 W. Polk Street
Chicago, IL 60612
Send Email

UpToDate Anywhere

ClinicalKey's Book Collection Replaces MDCONSULT's Book Collection!

IMPORTANT NEWS! The ClinicalKey Books Tab points you to the list of books formerly in the MDConsult Collection.

 

PubMed@UIC

 

Books and More

Find books and more by searching the library catalog:





Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested via the CARLI I-Share Catalog.

Google Scholar

Reporting Standards

 

BROWZINE

 

Information Services

Write Your Chicago-College of Medicine Clinical Librarian

- Maureen Clark

mdclark@uic.edu

.

Ask a Librarian at the Library of the Health Sciences

LHS-Chicago Reference: (312) 996-9163

Email Questions:  lib-cref@uic.edu

.

UIC Home

Copyright © 2013 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

  1. Contact us |
  2. Web Privacy Notice |
  3. Having problems accessing this site? Contact user support.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip