MHPE Connections
Free Research Resources
E-books
To find more UIC E-books by author, title, or subject, select Electronic Resources under Quick Limit when searching in our library catalog.
Books and More
Find books and more by searching the library catalog:
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested via the I-Share Catalog.
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
More Databases
Can't find what you're looking for? Check the Database A-Z list.
Refworks
Loansome DOC
- Loansome DOCA fee-based electronic document ordering service offered by the Library of the Health Sciences in cooperation with the National Library of Medicine for articles cited in the PubMed database. Anyone may use the service provided they set up an account with the Library of the Health Sciences first. Requests are usually filled within one business day if the item is held at the Library of the Health Sciences.
PubMed@UIC
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Recommended Databases
- CINAHLCumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health
- Directory of Indian Medical SiteCreated and maintained by QMed Knowledge Foundation, a Not-for-Profit Trust, registered with the Charity Commissioner, Mumbai.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica DatabaseIf you are off campus, be sure to get the subscription key from the list of databases A - Z. EMBASE indexes journal literature in the fields of biomedicine and pharmacology. About 600,000 citations and abstracts are added annually, 80% of which contain abstracts. It is updated weekly.
- ERIC via ProquestERIC, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, is presently the largest education database in the world, containing over one million citations.
- Europe PubMed Central• Includes PubMed abstracts (about 22 million)
• Europe PMC full text articles (about 2.2 million, of which over 400,000 are Open Access)
• Patent abstracts (over 4 million European, US, and International)
• National Health Service (NHS) clinical guidelines
• Agricola records (500,000)
• Supplemented with Chinese Biological Abstracts and the Citeseer database. - HINARIHINARI Access to Research in Health Programme provides free or very low cost online access to the major journals in biomedical and related social sciences to local, not-for-profit institutions in developing countries.
- Medical Heritage LibraryThe Medical Heritage Library is a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries.
- MEDLINE through Ovid (1947 to Present) National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
- National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)The HSRR database was designed for health care researchers and health sciences librarians seeking data resources used in health services research, the behavioral and social sciences and public health. Users may examine and compare characteristics of health-related research tools and link to additional research resources.
- PapersFirst Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
- ProceedingsFirst
- Professional Development Collection (for educators)Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for nearly 850 journals.
- PsycINFOPsycINFO(R), spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,500 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Over 60,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.
- PubMed PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- PubMed PubReminerUse this tool to analyze citation retrieval by major authors, search terms, and journals.
- SCOPUSScopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools that track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of KnowledgeThe ISI® Indexes provide access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 7000 of the world's scholarly journals covering the arts & humanities, science and technology, and social sciences.
E-Journals
- Academic Medicine
- Advances in Medical Education and Practice
- BMC Medical Education
- International Journal of Medical Education
- Journal of Graduate Medical Education
- Journal of Health Occupations Education
- Journal of Medical Education
- Medical Education Development
- Medical Teacher
- Teaching and Learning in Medicine
- The Clinical Teacher
- The Journal of Continuing Education in the Health Professions
- The Journal of the International Association of Medical Science Educators: JIAMSE
Subject Guide |
Cleo Pappas Links: Profile & Guides |
Information Services
Ask a Librarian
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163
LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8491
CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650
LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607
Text a Librarian 773-442-2757 Send a text (SMS) message from your mobile phone to the number listed above Monday-Friday from 11am-4pm.
Chat with a Librarian (IM Reference)
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm


Loading...
