This is the "Article & Research Databases" page of the "Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A guide to electronic, print and image resources available for research in architecture
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.uic.edu/architecture Print Guide RSS Updates

Article & Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

E-journals

  • ArchDaily
    Daily source for the latest architectural news including projects, products, events, interviews, competitions and more.
  • Archinect
    Initially developed in 1997 by Paul Petrunia, with the goal of making architecture more connected and open-minded, bringing together designers from around the world and introducing new ideas from all disciplines.
  • Architectural Record
    News,projects, features, technology, products, and more.
  • Architecture Week
    Covers design, context, building culture, technology and more. New issue weekly.
  • Architonic
    Independent Resource for Architecture and Design. Includes news, trends, events, product innovations
  • Bustler
    Competition and event listings in the architecture and design industries, with constantly updated lists of competitions and events, and latest news from around the globe. Use tags and keyword searches to pinpoint your search.
  • Landscape Architecture Magazine
    Magazine of the American Society of Landscape Architects
  • MAS Context
    Quarterly journal from Chicago-based MAS Studio covers issues that affect the urban context. Each issue presents a comprehensive view of a single topic with essays representing different perspectives.
  • World Architecture News
    Global architecture news, with features including Podcasts and jobs list.
  • Chicago Architect Magazine (AIA)
    Covers architecture and related issues of interest to Chicago architects
  • A Chicago Sojourn
    Features on architecture and urban landscape of Chicago

Architecture Article Databases

These databases provide extensive coverage of architecture:

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  
      
    The Avery Index treats the subjects of archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture.
  • Art Bibliographies Modern
    Includes the Art and Architecture Archive, which contains The Architectural Review Archive (1896-2005) and The Architects' Journal Archive (1919-2005).
  • Art Full Text
    Database includes a number of architecture journals and landscape architecture journals. Also covers art from antiquity through the present day.
  • BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art  
      
    Index to international literature on the history of art and architecture in Europe and the New World. No new material added after December, 2009.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
    Links to full text of articles from 67 open-access, peer-reviewed architecture journals.
  • Oxford Art Online  
      
    Provides scholarly encyclopedic and dictionary entries, images and extensive bibliographies citing scholarly articles and books.

RIBA Library Catalogue and RIBA Architectural Periodicals Index (API)

Published as a print index until 2013, the RIBA Architectural Publications Index (API) is now part of the online RIBA Library Catalogue, an internationally recognized resource for architecture research.  The RIBA Library Catalogue indexes articles from approximately 300 architecture journals from around the world, as well as books, drawings and photographs.

 

Featured Image

Presidential Towers under construction

C. William Brubaker (photographer).  Detail of Presidential Towers under construction, 1984. C. William Brubaker Collection, University of Illinois at Chicago Library.  View the Brubaker collection online.

 

Related Databases

These journal article databases cover multiple subjects including architecture:

  • Academic Source Complete
    Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • SAH Archipedia  
      
    Authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world. Contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 8,500 structures and places.
  • Getty Research Portal  
      
    Free access to public domain digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.
  • JSTOR
 

Get Help

Ask a Librarian

Daley Reference: (312) 996-2726

Email reference

More research help

    IM Reference available
    Monday-Friday 11am-4pm

    UIC Home

    Copyright © 2013 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

    1. Contact us |
    2. Web Privacy Notice |
    3. Having problems accessing this site? Contact user support.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip