Subject and Course Guides: Architecture: Images & Video

Image Databases - Library

These image databases contain architecture content, and are made available to the UIC community via the University Library and/or by library-affiliated organizations CARLI and OCLC.

ARTstor
Growing digital image library with over 2.5 million art, architecture, and cultural heritage images provided by museums, archives and scholars from around the world. Authoritative cataloging. Rights-cleared for educational use. Downloadable in projection-quality size.

Bridgeman Art Library
The Bridgeman Archive contains about 67,000 images from museum, art gallery and artist collections throughout the world, all copyright cleared for educational use. Includes design, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artifacts and more. (Access through Credo Reference).
more...less...
Guide with tips to improve your image searches:
https://www.bridgemaneducation.com/documents/how-to-guide.pdf
Plans of Ancient & Medieval Buildings (Artstor)
Almost 8,000 plans, sections and elevation drawings of ancient and medieval buildings and archaeological sites.
Saskia Art Images (CARLI)
30,000 images of art and architecture shot on-site at major European museums and archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt. Images and illustrations correspond to topics covered in 19 frequently-used art history textbooks.
Download high-resolution TIFFs via the "Full Resolution" link at the bottom of each record.
more...less...
NOTE: To access from off campus, please use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group .

Other Image Databases for Architecture

ARCHNET
Over 135,000 images, publications and videos representing more than 10,000 sites, names, or collections. Many sites in the Middle East, including ancient sites.
Asian Historical Architecture
Over 33,000 images from many different contributors covering 1,288 sites in twenty-three countries, with background information and virtual tours.
more...less...
Recently added images are listed on main page.
Courtauld Institute of Art, Conway Image Library
Focus is on photographs of historical European buildings and structures. Many photographs of parts of buildings (eg. windows).
more...less...
Register to create sets of images for personal use, email links to images and image sets, and more.
Flickr - Architecture 1400 - 1900
Join the flickr group to view over 109,000 photos of structures built from about AD 1400 until AD 1900.
Mapping Gothic France
Comprehensive catalog of historic photographs, plans and drawings of Gothic churches and cathedrals. Many images are plotted directly onto the floorplans. Includes building comparisons and animated maps.
more...less...
All content on Mapping Gothic is unrestricted to all users. The login button on the main page of the web site is for editing purposes only.
Ryerson and Burnham Archive, Archival Images Collection
Late 19th- and 20th-century American architecture, especially Midwest, Chicago School, Prairie School and organic architecture.
Wikimedia Commons - Architecture
Wikimedia Commons contains over 41 million media files made available for reuse via Creative Commons licenses.

Architecture images in e-books

E-book image resources from the University of Heidelberg Library

Entwurff Einer Historischen Architektur
Full text of 1725 book by Fischer von Erlach. Contains many full-page engravings of buildings and architectural monuments.
more...less...
Entire book may be downloaded as PDF, or individual image pages may be downloaded as projection-sized JPEGs. From the University of Heidelberg Library.
Piranesi's Le Antichità Romane
more...less...
From the University of Heidelberg Library.

Video and Audio

Art and Architecture in Video
Art and Architecture in Video delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media. Includes captions and transcripts.

99% Invisible
Streaming radio with downloadable podcasts. Covers issues of design, architecture and the 99% invisible activity that shapes our world.
more...less...
A project of KALW, the American Institute of Architects San Francisco, and the Center for Architecture and Design.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Architecture

Image Databases - Library

Other Image Databases for Architecture

Architecture images in e-books

Video and Audio

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library