Accessing Deleted Government Pages and Data
Due to the deletion of data and pages regarding many minority populations by the current US government administration, health science librarians recognize that this missing information is critical for delivering evidence-based care to the most vulnerable of those in our care. Various libraries, organizations and other entities are working to maintain access. Below are options for accessing this information.
Health Specific
- Restored CDCIndependent volunteer based project that pulled code and information from CDC pages prior to Jan 20, 2025. **These are static pages**.
- Downloadable CDC Guidelines (Alt site)A personal website that is archiving deleted CDC guidelines because of their topic (contraception/family planning, sexual health, vaccines, women & children, youth, intimate partner and sexual violence). Documents are continually added as they are recovered.
- American College of Obstetricians and GynecologistsWebpage of endorsed clinical guidelines (downloadable).
- Reproduced reproductiverights.gov pagetheSkimm is publishing the content of reproductiverights.gov to ensure that the critical information and resources it outlined remain available to women and families. The content appears below as it did on reproductiverights.gov on Jan. 15, 2025 when it was last saved in the Internet Archive.
- County Health Rankings & RoadmapsProgram from the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute
- City Health DashboardOver forty health measures across 970+ cities from NYU Langone Health.
Aggregate Topics (includes health)
- PolicyMapPolicyMap has purged data still available. See their availability statement. https://www.policymap.com/blog/purged-federal-agency-data-available
- SimplyAnalyticsHas Purged data still available, including CDC and other health data.
- End of Term ArchiveThis site is dedicated to preserving websites that are in danger of being deleted during US Government presidential transitions.
- Data Rescue ProjectThe Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk.
Getting help
As we navigate this disruption to our information system, please remember to email us or make appointments. We are here to assist you in finding information.
Since this is a ongoing situation, let us know if there is a resource or site that we can add!
- Also contact your professional associations. Some have taken the initiative to preemptively download and make needed information available.
- LifeHacker Blog on finding deleted dataYou may have to find/download/rescue the data yourself. This post by LifeHacker gives instructions on how to get information from the Internet Archive/Way Back Machine.
Go to the Data Rescue Project and/or contact us to get support on archiving data if you have found some that needs a home.
Essentials
Drug References
- Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKeyComprehensive drug reference solution providing quick access to current, accurate and clinically-relevant drug information.
- Drug Facts and ComparisonsLogin required. The library does not manage this resource. The link is for convenience of those who have subscriber access.
- LexicompAccess is IP restricted to COP building only. The library does not manage this resource. The link is for convenience of those who have subscriber access.
- MicromedexEducational use only. For hospital staff and clinicians, login and access through the link in the hospital portal.
- NatMed Pro
Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.
Drug and Disease state references
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified - Isabel Clinical Decision Support
Physicians around the world use Isabel to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. By entering the information normally captured in a patient workup, Isabel provides physicians with a list of possible diagnoses to help them construct their thinking and make an accurate final diagnosis quickly and easily at the point of care.
- UpToDate
UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.
- USP-NFUIC has complementary access (as of 2023) to USP-NF Online. Create and Access Point account with your UIC email to get access.
Access is limited to USP-NF. Other USP products are not included.
- VisualDX
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.
Note: users can also sign up for a FREE VisualDx Personal Account by clicking the Quick Registration Link below while on your institution Wi-Fi network or VPN. VisualDX Institutional Login
Access provided courtesy of the College of Medicine.
Literature Search
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - International Pharmaceutical AbstractsPharmaceutical and health related literature from 1970 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Guidelines
- Trip Pro
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS - UpToDate
UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App. - ECRI Guidelines TrustECRI Guidelines Trust is an interactive guideline portal, puts current, evidence-based clinical practice guideline summaries directly into the hands of clinicians, researchers, medical librarians, and patients.
Search PubMed
Search PubMed
Librarian - Chicago
Librarian - Rockford
1601 Parkview Avenue
Rockford, Illinois 61107
More Databases
Can't find what you're looking for? Check the Database A-Z list.
Find Journals @ UIC
Citation help
Contact your library liaison below
or
use these quick guides and manuals.
Refworks citation manager guide
- AMA Manual of StyleThe 11th edition of the American Medical Association Manual of Style online contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts.