ABI/INFORM is a business research database with full-text articles from business journals and newspapers.
ABI/INFORM is a scholarly business research database with full-text, images, tables and graphs from nearly 1,800 business journals and newspapers. Topics covered include economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, etc. Information on 60,000+ companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition) full text online (1984 to present).
Full text of more than 2,100 business and trade journals, some going back to 1965. Also includes company information and market reports.
Business Source Premier offers full-text coverage in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to documents from national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Large collection of industry reports covering current conditions, outlook and competitive landscape. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Since 1971 IBISWorld has provided thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information. It provides valuable insight into America’s 700+ industries. Users will need to create individual accounts to access some features of the resource.
Reports on a broad range of IT issues, including standards, protocols and
profiles of companies, products and services. Provides market analysis
for many segments of the industry and products. April 17, 2013
Topical coverage areas include IT infrastructure,
telecommunications, wireless technology,
data networking, convergence, security,
enterprise systems, the internet, and
Emerging market forecasts in selected industries, especially health care trends and new medical technologies. The student portal is read-only. Faculty can register for download access by emailing: firstname.lastname@example.org
TIP: If you have problems with off campus access, use the UIC OpenVPN. To install, go to OpenVPN.
Gartner Research provides access to research and analysis on information technology (IT) technologies, practices, and strategies performed by the Gartner Group. The University of Illinois Administrative Information Technology Services subscribes to this database. Selected reports are available for students, faculty and staff of the University of Illinois. Off-campus access is available through the use of the VPN client. Users must log in with their enterprise IDs and password.
Gartner Research contains research and analysis done by the Gartner Group that can be used for planning, decision making, and measurement purposes for making continual process improvements towards industry best practices. It does not include Dataquest documents nor special reports. Other information is only available by request to the University's Gartner representative. Individuals needing help accessing the content should contact the AITS Service Desk.
Finding Industry Codes
There are two classification systems used to classify business establishments for collecting and analyzing statistical data. Many databases use both. NAIC codes are often more specific, but SIC codes can be used for historical comparisons.