Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

History of Hull-House Settlement House: Archival Resources

This guide provides a sample of resources for researching the history of Chicago's Hull-House Settlement House, its co-founders Jane Addams and Ellen Gates Starr, and their innovative staff.

About Special Collections

The Richard J. Daley Special Collections Department houses collections of rare books, manuscripts, and photographs. The rare book collection includes books of permanent, historic, and research interest focusing primarily on the history of Chicago. The manuscript holdings consist of records of individuals and organizations important to the history of Chicago. Images of these individuals, organizations, and Chicago form the core of the photographs and digital images collection.

Search for Archival Collections

The following databases can be used to search for archival materials from other libraries' collections.

Organizational Records

The following archival collections of organizations related to Hull-House can be found in the Special Collections Department, Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago. The links below lead to finding aids (lists of contents) for each collection.

Please visit Special Collections for assistance using these materials or Ask A Librarian.

Personal Papers

The following collections of personal papers from people related to Hull-House can be found in the Special Collections Department, Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago. The links below lead to finding aids (lists of contents) for each collection.

Please visit Special Collections for assistance using these materials or Ask A Librarian.

Subject Guide

Peggy Glowacki

Ask an Archivist

Not all of our resources are available online. Special Collections encourages researchers to visit the Special Collections Reading Room and consult with an archivist. 

Special Collections Reading Room Locations and Hours

Email Ask A Librarian