Welcome!
Welcome to the research guide for Social Work!
In this guide, you will find resources relevant to various aspects of social work, including books, articles and primary source material.
We encourage you to explore Daley Library's main website for additional information and resources.
UIC Library accounts
- ILLiad: Free scanned articles from other libraries, books from outside I-ShareClick First Time Users and select a username and password of your choice.
- RefWorksRefWorks is an online bibliography management service that allows you to capture citations, store them, and use them while writing papers.
Finding Journal Articles
- Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current)
Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- MEDLINE via PubMed@UICPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences books and databases. From mid-1960s to present.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- ERIC on ProQuest (1966 - current)ERIC is the largest education database in the world. It is published by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI).
Researching Policy and Legislation
- CQ: Congressional Quarterly Electronic LibraryPlatform to search across all CQ materials at once.
- Congress.govThe United States Legislative Information web page
- ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest Congressional Publications includes Congressional hearings, reports, and documents and the U.S. Serials Set and the American State Papers as well as the Congressional Record and its predecessors. Coverage begins in 1789 and is most complete through 1969. See also U.S. Congressional Serials Set.
- Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS Index)
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
Evaluation Tools
- Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center from SAMHSASAMHSA is committed to improving prevention, treatment, and recovery support services for mental and substance use disorders.
This new Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center aims to provide communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others in the field with the information and tools they need to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings. The Resource Center contains a collection of scientifically-based resources for a broad range of audiences, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources. - Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions (PDF)The purpose of this guidance is to assist State and community planners in applying the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA’s) Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) to identify and select evidence-based interventions that address local needs and reduce substance abuse problems.
Subject Guide
801 S. Morgan St.
2-198 LIB
Chicago, IL 60607
Online Reference Works
- DSM-V LibraryThis is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
- International Encyclopedia of Rehabilitation(archive)The International Encyclopedia of Rehabilitation is an Internet based, multilingual resource conceived as part of an online information system on rehabilitation. Currently archived at this site.
- DSM Legacy Collection
The collection has previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. They include DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.