It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
This guide outlines the collective wisdom of medical librarians who surf the web every day to discover quality information in support of clinical and scientific decision making by doctors, scientists, and other health practitioners responsible for the nation's health. This guide is supported by the Medical Library Association (MLA), the library organization whose primary purpose is promoting quality information for improved health and whose members were the first to realize that not all health information on the web is credible, timely, or safe.
NLM librarians can't answer questions about individual medical cases or offer medical advice, because we are not doctors, nurses, or pharmacists. You can use this guide to help find health information resources.
MEDLINEPlus provides health professionals and consumers information that is authoritative and up to date. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish.
Now called APA PsychINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
Lt. Governor Sheila Simon chairs the Governor’s Rural Affairs Council (GRAC) which is tasked with improving delivery of state services to rural Illinois and expanding opportunities and enhancing the quality of life for rural residents.
With support from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Rural HIT Taskforce, this toolkit provides federal resources to help guide rural health facilities and providers through the phases of choosing, implementing and operating HIT systems.
This project provides educational ‘pipeline’ programs that will address the development and retention of the state’s health workforce using the resources of the partnership with the intent to improve health care for the underserved through health professions education, health careers development, and community and public health promotion activities.
The Illinois Critical Access Hospital Network (ICAHN) is a not-for-profit 501 (c)(3) corporation established in 2003 for the purposes of sharing resources, education, promoting operational efficiencies, and improving health care services for member critical access hospitals and their rural communities.
The Center for Rural Health was formed in 1989 on the recommendation of the Governor's Rural Health Task Force. The goal of the center is to improve access to primary health care in rural and underserved areas of Illinois and to encourage community involvement in health issues. The center also serves as an information clearinghouse on rural health issues.
The Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs (IIRA) builds the capacity of community leaders and policymakers by providing technical support, applied research, policy evaluation, and training across the state. IIRA is a clearinghouse for information on rural issues, coordinates rural research, and works with state agencies on issues of importance to rural communities.
The National Children’s Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety strives to enhance the health and safety of all children exposed to hazards associated with agricultural work and rural environments.
The Centers for Agricultural Disease and Injury Research, Education, and Prevention represent a major NIOSH effort to protect the health and safety of agricultural workers and their families. The NIOSH Agricultural Centers were established as part of a Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) / NIOSH Agricultural Health and Safety Initiative in 1990. The Centers were established by cooperative agreement to conduct research, education, and prevention projects to address the nation’s pressing agricultural health and safety problems. Geographically, the Centers are distributed throughout the nation to be responsive to the agricultural health and safety issues unique to the different regions.
A product of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Rural Initiative, the Rural Assistance Center (RAC) was established in December 2002 as a rural health and human services "information portal." RAC helps rural communities and other rural stakeholders access the full range of available programs, funding, and research that can enable them to provide quality health and human services to rural residents.
This site provides access to publications and projects funded through the federal Office of Rural Health Policy (ORHP) as part of the Rural Health Research Centers and Analysis Initiatives grant program.