Recommended Databases
Searching more than one database provides a more comprehensive look at your topic, especially in the field of Occupational Therapy.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica DatabaseDatabase in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - ICE Video Library Provides powerful streaming video collections of real patients and therapists in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs. Videos are available 24/7 for in-class or online teaching. Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access ICE Learning Videos. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users: Windows: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=973 MacOS : https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=904 Linux: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=910 Android: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=954 IOS https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=964
Occupational therapy and/or Rehabilitation oriented databases:
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 17,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- OT seeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence)Contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.
- REHABDATAProduced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, it includes content from the former CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research. It describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
- Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source
Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source provides indexing for over 200 sports medicine and rehabilitation journals.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center
Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of: Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
Databases on instruments:
- Rehabilitation Measures DatabaseView descriptions, instructions, and bibliographies for over 300 rehabilitation instruments.
- HAPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments :Information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests). Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Additional useful databases:
- Professional Development Collection (for educators)
Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text education journals, 1965 to present.
- ERIC on EBSCOhostEducational materials. (Available through multiple providers; other options on Databases A-Z page.)
- ScopusScopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools that track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
