Contact
Accessing Deleted Government Pages and Data
Due to the deletion of data and pages regarding many minority populations by the current US government administration, health science librarians recognize that this missing information is critical for delivering evidence-based care to the most vulnerable of those in our care. Various libraries, organizations and other entities are working to maintain access. Below are options for accessing this information.
Health Specific
- Restored CDCIndependent volunteer based project that pulled code and information from CDC pages prior to Jan 20, 2025. **These are static pages**.
- Downloadable CDC Guidelines (Alt site)A personal website that is archiving deleted CDC guidelines because of their topic (contraception/family planning, sexual health, vaccines, women & children, youth, intimate partner and sexual violence). Documents are continually added as they are recovered.
- American College of Obstetricians and GynecologistsWebpage of endorsed clinical guidelines (downloadable).
- Reproduced reproductiverights.gov pagetheSkimm is publishing the content of reproductiverights.gov to ensure that the critical information and resources it outlined remain available to women and families. The content appears below as it did on reproductiverights.gov on Jan. 15, 2025 when it was last saved in the Internet Archive.
- County Health Rankings & RoadmapsProgram from the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute
- City Health DashboardOver forty health measures across 970+ cities from NYU Langone Health.
Aggregate Topics (includes health)
- PolicyMapPolicyMap has purged data still available. See their availability statement. https://www.policymap.com/blog/purged-federal-agency-data-available
- SimplyAnalyticsHas Purged data still available, including CDC and other health data.
- End of Term ArchiveThis site is dedicated to preserving websites that are in danger of being deleted during US Government presidential transitions.
- Data Rescue ProjectThe Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk.
Getting help
As we navigate this disruption to our information system, please remember to email us or make appointments. We are here to assist you in finding information.
Since this is a ongoing situation, let us know if there is a resource or site that we can add!
- Also contact your professional associations. Some have taken the initiative to preemptively download and make needed information available.
- LifeHacker Blog on finding deleted dataYou may have to find/download/rescue the data yourself. This post by LifeHacker gives instructions on how to get information from the Internet Archive/Way Back Machine.
Go to the Data Rescue Project and/or contact us to get support on archiving data if you have found some that needs a home.
Quick Links
The resources below are great starting places to find statistical information to support your population.
- PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an data and mapping tool for accessing data about communities across the U.S. to make better-informed decisions without any prior experience.
- SimplyAnalytics
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data, the PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, and the Community Lifestages dataset. The CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created.
To save your searches, you need to sign up for an account using your UIC email address.
Access restricted to 5 concurrent users. - Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Note: Social Explorer has developed a new libguide. To see the new libguide, you can go this link here - StatistaA database focusing on industry statistics and reports. Search "Health & Pharmaceuticals" to browse reports related to the health care industry.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)Several projects are underway including the Heathcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) & interactive tool for hospital statistics, the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), and the Healthcare Informatics Standards.
- CDC WonderFor a single point of access to a wide variety of reports & numeric public health data, use CDC Wonder. Browse the topics list (i.e., Chronic Diseases, Communicable Diseases, Environmental or Occupational Health, etc.) or use the A - Z index.
- FastSTATS A-ZQuick access to statistics on a variety of topics with links provided to more comprehensive data & related topics.
- IQueryIQuery is a web-based community health data query system maintained by the Illinois Department of Public Health. It has data from multiple sources and can be accessed by most browsers.
- Morbidity Mortality Weekly ReportOnline version of the print publication focusing on disease surveillance.