We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
Are you interested in historical public health data, early pharmacopoeias, or what is was like to be a nurse in the 1930s? We have answers to all that and more in Special Collections and University Archives. The Special Collections and University Archives department at the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago contains a variety of materials documenting Chicago's rich history as a center for the education and practice of the medical arts. You can find out more by visiting the Special Collections and University Archives research at Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago LibGuide. I am happy to answer any questions!
I graduated from Wayne State University in 2010 with my Masters of Library and Information Science with an Archival Administration Certificate. I earned a Special Collections Certificate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2016, and became a Certified Archivist in 2017.
My research interests stem from my interest in how health & medical archives are used by researchers, and ways to increase and diversify those uses.
Keller Young M. A Circle of Care: Horizon Hospice, 1978-2015. Special Collections and University Archives, 2021 (Curated Exhibit).
Keller Young M, Wheaton N. Chicago Medical History. Chicago Collections Consortium. 2020.
Greenstein D, Keller Young M. Race Riots and Chicago in 1919. Chicago Collections Consortium, 2019 (Curated Exhibit).
Li M, Darcovich J, Harris V, Flynn K, Keller-Young M. UIC Metadata Best Practice Guideline. UIC DLF AIG Metadata Application Profile Clearinghouse Project. 14 Dec 2018.
Keller Young M, Harris V, Flynn K. Chicago Crime and Punishment. Chicago Collections Consortium. 2017.
Keller, Megan. More product more process: The CME Group Collections. Midwest Archives Conference Annual Meeting, Milwaukee, WI. April 30, 2016.
Lurie, Jae, Megan Keller, and Kit Fluker. “Ten solutions to the challenges of processing large collections.” Archival Outlook (March/April 2014): 6, 28.
Lurie, J., Keller, M., & Fluker, K. (2013, August). Ten solutions to the challenges of processing large collections. Poster presented at the Society of American Archivists annual meeting, New Orleans, LA.